We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 thumbs up - great place to stay would go there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #15 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 thumbs up - great place to stay would go there again”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Great place to stay. Traveled with my hubby and 3 kids (12,5, and 3) and was able to squeeze ourselves into a one bedroom suite. Hotel is central and close to San Diego attractions (San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Legoland, San Diego Wild Animal Park). Lots of parking and great dinner and breakfast. Loved getting a fresh breakfast and coming home to a nice dinner (complete with salad). My hubby loved the free beer Monday-Thursday night with dinner. Would definely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerSD, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary Welcome Home Reception during the week. On your next visit with us our spacious two bedroom suite would be great for your family. Anyone at the front desk would be more than happy to assist you. Thank you again for choosing the Homewood Suites San Diego/ Del Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    327
    89
    37
    12
See reviews for
776
219
44
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

what a great value for your buck! free breakfast, free parking, free internet. what more can you ask for? the location is perfect if you don't mind a quick 10-15 drive into the city. it's close to la jolla (next town over) and just a couple of miles from the heart of san diego. we got the studio suite. clean, decorated elegantly, and just the perfect size for us! didn't have time to check out the gym or pool so i can't comment on those. the only con i have about this place is to work on the the breakfast; eggs were soggy, muffins & croissants were stale, coffee was okay. i'd stay here again, but maybe get breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjerseyjo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This past August my wife and I celebrated our one year anniversary in the San Diego area. On this trip we went to the San Diego Zoo, the Wild Animal Park, and the Birch Aquarium. We stayed at the Homewood Suites Del Mar and found it to be a very comfortable and clean place. The room was immaculate. The location was in a safe and quiet part of town. The parking was easy and free. The free breakfast in the morning was very good and fresh. The people at the front desk were very efficient and polite. The check in was simple, easy and fast. I couldn't possibly think of one bad thing to say about this hotel experience. To me, everything was perfect and I know we will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingguy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerSD, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so happy that our entire staff was able to make your anniversary a memorable one. We were also glad to hear that you enjoyed our Suite Start Hot breakfast. We consistently try to provide the freshest and highest quality meals. We would love to be able to host your next special occasion again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Staff is the best. Our Fox rental car couldn't move at a very inopportune moment. I asked the front desk to call a cab for us. The recepetionist offered to have the hotel shuttle takes us to our destination - UCSD move in day - with many boxes of my son's belongings. Great service - probably save us from messing up our son's first official task at the university.

The rooms are functional and spacious. However, my beef is with the bath rooms. Both bathrooms have traces of mildew around the edge of the shower stall. The shower was weak in water pressure. I asked the receptionist to change room and Mike gladely complied. But the replacement room is only marginally better. I ended up checking in at the Hilton Torres Pine - 10 minutes away.

Mike was so gracious, he gave me a small discount for my inconenience. I wish the bathrooms are better maintained so that I can give them a 100% positive review.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my2centsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerSD, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for your great feedback. We hope that you will consider the Homewood Suites San Diego/Del Mar in the future. We would love to show the high standard of quality our suites are typically kept at. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review we sincerely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We chose the Homewood Suites in Del Mar based on reviews we’d seen here, and particularly because we could have a separate living area to relax in while the kids went to sleep. Overall we were fairly pleased with our choice.

What we hadn’t quite appreciated was how far it was to get to downtown to see the various attractions. And there’s no suitable public transport near the hotel. Nevertheless we were pleased with the hotel and once we’d got used to the idea of driving into town every day it wasn’t too bad. It was quiet, comfortable and pretty good value for money.

Check in was friendly and efficient, parking was easy (despite a large church social gathering going on next door – they had made sure that the hotel parking wasn’t used by the church guests) and our room was clean and a good size. Beds were very comfortable, living area perfectly fine, and it had a kitchen area with a (very small) table. Air conditioning was very loud though, and didn’t seem to work properly – it turned off before the room had reached the right temperature on the control dial.

We went to “Bistro 39” on the first night – in the sister hotel next door - where the food was nice, but it had absolutely no atmosphere as it was basically in the hotel lobby. After that we used the directions provided by the hotel to get to some local restaurants. Reverse directions would have been useful as we got lost coming back in the dark from Del Mar Heights and ended up going the wrong way on the freeway...

Breakfast was good but the eating area got very busy and wasn’t really quite large enough. Food consisted of the usual bagels, muffins, toast, hot food, cereal & fruit (which ran out a lot). One morning we couldn’t find a table and ended up standing with our food for 5 minutes waiting for somewhere to sit. On another morning they opened up the function next door which helped. Coffee was horrible, but we struggled to find good coffee in any hotel in our 2 week trip. On some nights there’s a free dinner – they had chilli one night we were there, and a barbecue the next. On one morning there was a member of staff making pancakes in the pool area by the breakfast bar, which made a nice difference.

The hotel laundry was far too small for a hotel of that size: it only had 2 washers & 2 driers, which took an age to dry clothes. Get there early... There is a small shop where you can buy basic stuff – a few postcards & stationery items, ice creams, toiletries, microwave food and snacks and that’s about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerSD, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback from our guests, especially when we can improve. We do have a complimentary shuttle available to our guest until 7pm within a 5 mile radius, as well as highly recommended transportation services. We do apologize for the inconvenience that you and your family experienced during our Suite Start Hot Breakfast, we will make sure to open the meeting space more frequently if it is not in use. We were happy to hear that the rest of your stay was great. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Hotel was great-only about 15-20 minute ride to downtown, same for Legoland, clean, friendly personnel, easy on/off from I-5. Mon to Thursday hotel provides a light dinner and bottles of re/white wine and Firehouse ale. We loved the barbeque on Thursday night by the pool. Breakfast in morning was good-fresh fruit, eggs everyday, cereal, baked goodsetc. Staff worked hard during the busy rush to ensure all was always replenished and clean. A great place to stay...nice running path nearby. Also nearby is a shopping center with a Vons, Subway, Italian restaurant, Chinese and Greek places. Will definitely stay here again when back in San Diego. Kudos to the terrific staff for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerSD, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Welcome Home Reception and Suite Start Hot Breakfast. It is always great to hear that our staff "wowed" our guests. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Nice suite, plenty of space for toddler to run around. Has a full size kitchen which was so great in prepping our toddlers meals. Very clean, and decor is current. Good breakfast and close to old town and sea world. free parking and plenty of it.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SFMom2bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManagerSD, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are glad that you were able to utilize your fully equipped kitchen in your suite. Our property consistently strives to provide the best quality meals for your enjoyment. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing