We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price Was Right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #23 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We were looking for a place that was centrally located for our trip (near La Jolla and Legoland) and the Homewood suites was a perfect fit. The rooms were nicely laid out and clean. My girl friends son gave the waffle maker (breakfast) and popcorn in the room a big thumbs up.

The Homestead is located in a new business park and you will need to drive if you want to go out to dinner. We went to Tony's Jacal (Mexican) in Solana Beach - it was great!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1570Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2008

I stayed at the Homewood Suites recently for 2 nights with my wife and 15 year old son. Our suite was on the top floor (HHonours guests are allocated top floor rooms) . We had no problem with noise. In fact it was extremely quiet. The suite was really spacious and spotlessly clean with decent enough furnishings. We had a full kitchenette including hob, fridge/freezer and even a dishwasher! The complementary breakfast was OK, but nothing special. We didn't use the pool, but it is pretty small and enclosed so wouldn't get much sunshine. Service was very good. Location-wise it is a drive to get to anywhere (there is nothing in the local vicinity) but it is only a short drive to Torrey Pines or La Jolla (beautiful). Downtown San Diego is about 20 mins drive.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SussexAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Our family of 4 stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroon suite. The suite was very comfortable and a good size with a well equipped kitchen (including dishwaser - fantastic!). Our only minor issue is that only 2 dining chairs are supplied as standard. The hotel is very clean and the pool is nice. As previous reviewers are commented, the staff are very helpful. The highlight for us was the fantasic breakfast - a very good selection, including hot dishes, served on real plates with real cutlery. There is a supermarket a few minutes drive away, and it is an easy half-hour drive into San Diego. If you are visiting San Diego and don't want to stay in the city, this hotel is ideal. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

My husband and I planned on spending the weekend in San Diego to go to Sea World, we were just driving down from Los Angeles and wanted a place that was clean, safe and affordable.
When we arrived at this property we were overwhelmed by how nice and helpful the staff was, then we got to our room and were pleasantly surprised. It was so clean and the bed was comfortable and the room was quite spacious. You get a complimentary breakfast and that was delicious. The other families and people staying there were also kind and a pleasure to talk to during breakfast. If anyone is planning a trip (short or long) to the San Diego area, I highly suggest staying here!!
We are a mid-twenties to early 30's couple with no children but there were lots of other families there with kids, so it's definitely a family friendly hotel while also being nice and relaxing for us.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abrown5208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We travelled with our 2 young sons to San Diego from Washington D.C. to do some sightseeing and enjoy the So. California beaches. None of us had ever been to California before nor do we know anyone there, so I was flying by the seat of my pants when I selected this hotel (chose mostly for the good reviews on tripadvisor). I was not disappointed. The front desk staff was so friendly and accomodating. The room itself was huge, and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud every night. The huge breakfasts every morning were delicious. We only got to take advantage of the complimentary dinner one night - it was the night they did the outdoor cookout - and it was far beyond our expectations. We haven't stopped tallking about how much we enjoyed this hotel yet - we liked it so much we've already booked to go back next year! San Diego is our new favorite place to visit and we would't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blondie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We could not rate the hotel staff more highly. After arriving 5 hours early for check in, the front desk staff were more than happy to at least take our bags so we could go visit the beach and get something to eat. When we returned it was again early but they remember us and had a room ready to go. The breakfast included was of excellent standard and catered for our whole family (6,8,13 year olds and 2 adults) to perfection. To our surprise dinner was included during the week which was also up to the breakfast standard. Any questions we had of the staff were answered genuinely which was greatly appreciated by my family of tired travelers. We came to Del Mar to relax and this hotel is the perfect place to do so. Rooms and amenities are clean and the pool was ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scottnleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This hotel is about 20 minutes north of San Diego. The rooms and public areas of the hotel are well maintained and very clean. There is a patio area with swimming pool and lovely landscaping. The rooms have granite kitchens with full size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher. Dishes and coffee maker are also included.

A hot breakfast is included in the room rate. On Mon. through Thurs. dinner with wine and beer is also included. We had enchiladas one night and there was a cookout the next night. The food was very good and after busy days of sightseeing it was wonderful to just kick back and relax at the hotel.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Parking is free and plentiful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zimbi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $133 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing