We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #11 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Pleased with our four night stay in early June. While the location is away from the City, access to the freeway in both directions was very close by. Others have commented on the great amenities, I'd like to comment on the hotel staff. Everyone that we dealt with or ran into was friendly and helpful. Their good attitude, accommodating nature and concern for their guests sets this property apart. My only regret is that this stay being part of a vacation trip from Hawaii, we might not have the opportunity or need to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JWBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi JWBlack,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about our property. I am delighted to hear our team was able to make you feel at home. I will pass along all the great comments as we are always appreciative of guest feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other comments or questions. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    292
    79
    31
    11
See reviews for
700
194
39
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice and quiet location. Room with 1 queen bed and a sleeper. A complimentary breakfast with a variety of selection. We selected this hotel since it's close to UCSD. It could be us but we had to call the housekeeping 3 times to get additional bath towels :(

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello 9za,

Thank you for staying with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review. I am glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast before heading off to the graduation. I sincerely apologize for the amount of time it took to receive the towels. We look forward to having you return on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I recently traveled to San Diego for vacation with my wife. We stayed at the Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar. We had an initial problem with our first room. There was a big wet spot on the floor near the bed. The attendent promptly switch rooms and offered to help move our luggage. That was really the only negative portion of our stay. The pool was nice and so was the hot tub, always hot, you don't always get that. We found the hot breakfast to be quite delightful, the staff always pleasant, the same goes for the Manager's Welcome back reception that was around dinner time Mon-Thurs. These amenities alone are a big win in my book. It could save families a lot of $$ for food everyday. It was the 2 of us but still it was nice. The hotel lobby was always clean and had fresh coffee from what I could tell 24/7.

The location is a bit outside the city but the price per night reflects the location. It is about 25 min from the Zoo and Sea World, Gaslamp Quarter and about 40 min from the Safari park. There is a main drag about 10 min away. Mira Mesa Dr. which has many restaurants and some shopping if you need to. Which we bought some food and snacks at Target to have in the room.

Overall this was a great hotel especially for the price in this area. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the rear ground of the hotel have a lot of traffic from the staff. We were near the laund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Christopher K,

Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review! We really appreciate your business and we are so glad you were able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. I am happy to hear our team was able to move you rooms quickly so that it did not affect your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any more comments or questions. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. We found the room to be just what we needed for our type of vacation. We had an elderly Grandma and two teenagers with us for a total of 5 people. We loved having the refrigerator to hold drinks and snacks. We visited the Del Mar Faire and La Jolla and didn't use the pool. The complimentary breakfast was awesome! It's suppose to close at 10, but our teenage girls were served ten minutes after. They loved the waffle bar. We were all quite pleased with the hospitality and the quality of guests visiting were extremely nice. I had left my purse on a couch in lounge area by mistake. One of the guests saw me frantically come off the elevator and had already turned it in. I had over $300 cash in it .Nice to know on vacation you are surrounded by honest and quality individuals!

Room Tip: We had corner room on 4th floor (room 425) and it was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello Jamie H,

First off, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest. We really do have some of the best guests in San Diego and I am happy to hear you were able to find your purse right away. I hope your family felt at home during your stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you have read my other reviews you know I have a great history with this hotel. They are like family to us, so naturally we enjoy many family events here. Our latest stay was in celebration of my sons high school graduation. Almost two years ago at this very hotel my son suffered from sudden cardiac death. After a lot of work he has recovered, and is now a high school grad! All that he has gone thru, and is still working on, is what made this trip so meaningful. Homewood Suites helped get us thru those months of him being in the hospital, and they were there for his graduation. We also reserved several rooms, because we had many travelers, and everyone was well cared for and had plenty of room. Some drove, some flew, but we were all accommodated and made to feel at home. I do believe the staff help make this place so great, but the amenities are also worth mentioning. Great breakfast every morning. Relaxing atmosphere. Comfy without the 'tourist' feel. It's not in the city, but it's an easy drive, and free parking!! You can read about my sons whole experience on Facebook @ Alex Robinson.

Room Tip: I personally like the one bedroom suite, especially with kids. Hello, 2 TVs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rachael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Rachael,

Thank you again for another amazing review. We are so happy to be able to welcome you and your family back on so many occasions. It has been such a pleasure to see Alex grow and get stronger throughout the years. He has accomplished so much and we couldn't be more proud to have all of you as apart of our family here. We look forward to celebrating more occasions with Alex and the rest of your family! Congratulations to Alex!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlands TX
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A great place to stay and visit the area travel in and out of San Diego was easy. La Jolla Beaches very close by. Right by 5 freeway quick on and off to anywhere in the area. Stayed 6 nights. Had great Service breakfast and evening meal included great food.

Room Tip: No view to be seen from hotel to far from Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello jim f,

Thank you very much for the great review and kind comments. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and managers reception. Please feel free to contact me if you have any other comments, as I am always appreciative of guest feedback. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Clean room, comfy beds, great wait staff in food area (David handled the breakfast shift expertly!). Love the 1 bedroom suite - where you can shut a door when someone is sleeping. We called and asked to have a lightbulb replaced - took less than 5 minutes for a knock on our door! Will definitely stay here again :)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - we were tucked away from other travelers, it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thediabfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Thediabfamily,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy yourself here with us. I will be passing along the great comments to David and our maintenance crew. We hope to see you on your next visit to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing