We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February visit...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #23 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I found the entire staff to be friendly and accord acting. I get the entire staff made the extra effort to make my stay memorable. I will say the morning breakfast crew cannot make a decent coffee to save their soul, the coffee just sucked

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrkC268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

My Son, grandson and I stayed here on Tuesday February 11th. They gave us an upgrade on our room and were very courteous and friendly. The hotel is very clean. beds are comfortable and bedding is nice and crisp and fluffy comforters. The breakfast was good. Two kinds of scrambled eggs, hash brown potatoes, toast, muffins, bagels, cold cereal, yougerts, fruits, waffles, oatmeal, juices, coffee, soy milk, very plentiful. This was our third stay at this property and we will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. Thank you to gentleman at the desk that night at about 11:30 PM (I did not get your name) For your Kindness & professional demeanor. I hope your employer knows what a good employee he or she has in you. : )

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in room #313 - 2 bedroom - 1 with two queen beds, 1- with a King bed - 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maryrc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you Maryrc1961 for taking the time to write your review. I will make sure that our night auditor knows that he provided excellent service to you. We are proud of our team here and we strive every day to provide incredibly personalized and caring service. Thank you for your review and we can not wait to have you back for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was very pleased with my 3-night stay at this Homewood Suites. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite and found it very comfortable and spacious. The hotel staff was very friendly - and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splash's_pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have always been a fan of Hiltons but your staff at Homewood Suites went above and beyond. I was staying there while (two weeks) and everyone at Homewood was amazingly helpful. In particular, Ryan at the front desk always went out of his way to me by name and was happy to help me with any any request. Also, another guy (I didn't catch his name) always asked me how I was doing during the meals. (A really solid breakfast buffet is included every morning and dinners Mon - Thurs) He even offered to pack me up a breakfast to go on my check out day. The rest of the staff was great too - I don't know how housekeeping did it, but they swooped in like cleaning fairies and had my room refreshed if I stepped out for 30 min. The room were always clean and stocked, everything worked, and it felt like somewhere nice to go to (since I wasn't going home). Plenty spacious, nice amenities (full fridge, solid collection of cookware, free wifi).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Staff very personable & professional. Extremely accommodating. Meals very satisfactory. Management very eager to please. Appear to cater to the business traveler. Nice and safe area. Nice grounds. I will stay @ this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you Pam H for the review! While we are a very popular hotel for families visiting the San Diego area, we also pride ourselves in matching the needs of our frequent business guests. With the complimentary daily breakfast and Welcome Home Reception nearly every weekday we do our best to make business trips a little less business and a lot more comfortable. We hope to have you again next time you are in San Diego, hopefully for vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My family recently returned from a vacation in San Diego and had originally intended on a beachfront hotel; however, I am so glad we stayed where we did. We decided on the Homewood Suites (DelMar) as we have had excellent experiences with Homewood Suites in the past and we always appreciate the separate living space once the kids were in bed. We really have nothing negative to say about this experience. Simply put, it was hard to leave - not just because of the fantastic climate, but because the hotel was great for our family. If you are looking for something close to the ocean (a five minute drive), clean, and spacious this is the place for you.

The most important factor for us was customer service and they were great on all accounts. We were particularly pleased with the service from David who greeted our family with a warm smile each morning. The hotel made a great acquisition when they hired him. Thanks, David!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhenkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Every things was good except for the breakfast. scramble egg was so dry that I felt like I was eating rubber. And they did not have any beacon, or sausage. May be I was the only one who liked fatty food, sorry! After all that was a free breakfast. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was facing to the side of the hotel on 3rd floor. Not much of the view. We can see where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susuethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you susuethan for your review. I am so sorry that the breakfast you experienced was anything less than stellar. I have passed on your review to our breakfast staff and Food and Beverage department so we can make sure that our breakfasts are always to the high standards we are known for. I am glad the rest of your stay was great and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $133 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing