We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family of 5 enjoyed a nice 2 bedroom suite for three nights while in town for a family wedding in La Jolla. Enjoyed our stay but we were really impressed by the group of people running this place. Everyone we had the pleasure of running in to were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. From the front desk to the breakfast personnel to the maids in the hallway. Even had the GM walk by while we were sitting in the lobby and asked if the temperature was comfortable. The little things add up and the positive attitudes do make a difference. We'd recommend this location in a heart beat! Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel would have been perfect for me if the fitness center was 4 times larger and had some equipment. 2 treadmills, an eliptical, a bike and some dumbbells doesn't qualify as a fitness center. However, the free food was very good and the remaining facilities are nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is an excellent hotel on many levels. However, the single star rating is not accidental and hopefully will at a minimum entice conversation and make visitors aware given that a single review like this can affect the outcome for well over 1000 potential visitors very quickly. I'm targeting the fact that the property is not a smoke-free hotel.

I came here to relax with a friend for the long weekend with a friend and we wanted a kitchen option. Nothing can ruin an otherwise experience more than activities of other guests and in this case it's subtle and not the guests' fault as it's allowed hotel policy.

Now I understand that only certain sections of the property have rooms that allow for smoking and I know there are designated areas outside, but this never, ever works. Smoke has a tendency to make its way around the building despite best intentions. On this particular visit, a few examples:

1. We like to sleep with the windows open. Not more than an hour or two into trying to fall asleep and ... smoke.

2. Sitting in the hot tub after a long hike during the afternoon ... smoke.

3. Retrieving a few items from the car ... smoke.

I am somewhat sensitive to smoke so maybe other visitors will not have an issue but as someone who is just getting over a minor lung infection, it pretty much ruined the weekend.

I also understand that hotels want to be accommodating to smokers. However, this is 2014 and there are many successful hotels that are 100% smoke free (thinking many Starwood properties). In fact, one Starwood property manager told me if I see someone smoking close to the building, to call as it's not allowed and that's the way it should be.

I also work in medicine and see the carnage downstream, but I'll leave this part out as it's a personal choice, although that's debatable too with escalating insurance premiums. What is not though is supporting an activity that has the potential to have negative consequences for others who are also paying guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank medicinewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. While our property is well known for being an incredibly comfortable and clean hotel, it seems that you did not get to enjoy that kind of experience. We do have designated exterior smoking areas as well as designated smoking rooms located on our top floor. We of course are very sorry to hear that you were effected as we truly strive to make both smoking and non smoking guests happy. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies and would appreciate any further details in order to ensure this does not occur in the future. Our direct line is 858-523-0500. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The suit was compact and very efficient. Just what we needed as a couple. There we no restaurants within walking distant except the one in the Hilton hotel next door. However, Homewood suites provided dinner Monday thru Thursday 5-7PM.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for the great review! While we do have a plethora of wonderful one and two bedroom suites, our Homewood also offers Studio Suites for quick getaways and smaller families. You can expect all of the amenities you would find in our larger suites but in a smaller and more economical package. We hope to have you again next time you are in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Thank you for the excellent hot meals for breakfast and evening. I was going to book with Marriot nearby and it did not offer the meals or free sevices. I am so glad I stayed here. The staffs for dinning and front desk were very friendly. It made my business trip less stressful. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Another great stay at a Homewood Suites. Staff was exceptional. There was a pretty good variety of breakfast foods, certainly better than your standard continental. The only unfortunate thing about our stay was the family of early-rising kangaroos above us. Can't fault kids for being kids. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel while working in San Diego for 10 nights in August 2013. The staff was extremely attentive to every detail and amazingly friendly. The ladies working the evening reception remembered us each evening and went out of their way to make sure we had drinks at our table, they even remembered where we sat each night! The front desk staff was very friendly and was extremely helpful when I spoke to them about the people in the room above me stomping on the floor. The maintenance staff was quick and attentive when the lock on my door broke and the guy was super friendly. Overall, this is about the best hotel staff I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's staying in the Del Mar area, or working at MCAS Miramar like I was. Fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside of the hotel overlooking the pool are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cufan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 278 in San Diego
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $115 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing