We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax...Enjoy and don't overcrowd your room!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #23 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stood at the Homewood suites on a weekend to celebrate my nephew's 4th birthday. This hotel is great because it's right in between SEA WORLD and LEGOLAND (both parks he wanted to go to for his birthday celebrations). We had a group of 7 (3 families) and reserved 3 King suites. It worked out perfectly, especially since we didn't overcrowd our rooms. Having the convenience of a separation between the bedroom and sitting room made "nap time" comfortable. The hotel was kind enough to put all of our rooms next to one another. Made it easy to "get up and go". The staff are all wonderful. I would like to commend everyone from the front desk, lounge and pantry service, housekeeping and especially the maintenance department. Everyone works very hard and with a smile. Hopefully the Management recognizes this!! But I know readers are looking for travel tips or for deciding factors between the many hotels in the area, so here are a few....
*The Homewood suites is geared for the business traveler, so the rooms are quiet enough to not hear the family next door. It was a little home away from home.
*The ice machines and elevators are conveniently located away from the rooms so noise is minimized.
*The pool area also has a nice patio/ BBQ area so you can be outside relaxing and not getting splashed or having kids jump over your lounge chair to get to the exit gate
*They have a nice eating lounge and a 24 hour coffee and tea area along with a sundries shop for the midnight snackers.
*The place is really clean and the landscape is really well maintained, easy view of property
*The surrounding area is nice
*The staff is always available and interacts with their guests to make the visit comfortable and convenient.
* The bedroom and sitting room are actually separate from each other... it's not just a partial wall!!
The best example I can give is we had another part of our group decide to stay in San Diego instead of drive home to LA. They had no reservations and are a family of five. The hotels near Sea world were scary and overpriced and with 3 tired kids, finding a hotel wasn't easy! We told them about our hotel. They booked with Homewood suites at the last minute and reserved a 2 queen bed suite at an excellent price... next to our other 3 rooms. It was wonderful and they had a great time. Plenty of room to unwind!! Now, they are big fans of The Homewood Suites Del Mar.

Room Tip: My biggest tip would be to not overcrowd your room. If there are more than 3 people staying in a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caliGirl-luv2go4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited with our daughter/son-in-law and four young grandchildren. Very comfortable, clean facility; midweek evening meal was a surprise and very welcome; outstanding staff, especially David (who served food) and Courtney (front desk). Would definitely come here again, and recommend strongly to others.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank ProsnCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not a 5 star in rating but 10 star customer service. We had to check out early with our group and before we left at 630am staff made togo breakfast fruit, danish and juice bags without us asking....awesome it doesn't get better than this!

Room Tip: great place when you are on the a business trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DaisyTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was greeted warmly. The staff was friendly and helpful. The meals were hearty and plentiful. I would have loved a take out breakfast, but it wasn't available. The pool and hot tub were lovely. Very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times when visiting our two sons and their families. Both times, we took 2BR suites because of the number of people involved. Each night, a couple of our grandchildren stayed with us after swimming in the pool and jacuzzi. One night, our sons joined us and we used the grill (there are two) to grill chicken and fixin's. There's a nice seating area that is really comfortable. We were staying on a weekend, so we couldn't enjoy the evening social hour, but the complimentary breakfast buffet is a nice way to start the day. It's a basic buffet, with scrambled eggs and either ham or sausage, plus cereals, yogurt, waffles and fruit. Good coffee and plenty of helpful staff. This is not a 5 star hotel, but it has everything we need when visiting our family and we'll return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank rscearcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although it's in a residential/business area, I had a car so I didn't have issues getting to/from places. The suite was clean, everything worked well and the bed was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast, wifi and parking were the selling points for me. I also used the fitness center which was small, but as there weren't other people using it while I was there, I had the whole space to myself. The staff were very nice and efficient. I had a very nice and comfortable stay here and with the right rates, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The staff at the Homewood Suites was very friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted us with a smile and warm hello. The staff truly seemed to enjoy their jobs. They had great recommendations for restaurants in Del Mar. They helped my husband's bad back by moving us to a room with a bathtub. The food and beverage staff and front desk staff were especially helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $133 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing