We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gracious stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

our family was having a reunion to celebrate our mother's 85th birthday [our father is also observing his 87th birthday as well]. the staff could not have been more gracious, from the chocolate cup cakes with lit candles to the "goodies" basket in their room. our thanks to them all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed four nights (Mon - Thurs.) in three suites on a recent family trip. Our expectations were exceeded.

All staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The front desk greeted us every time we left and came back, printed directions, made copies for us and when we wanted seafood for lunch one day they suggested The Fish Market in Del Mar which was excellent.

The free breakfasts and dinners were very good; so nice to come back to after a busy day out. There were different hot items each morning including egg scrambles, bacon, sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, Belgian waffles, along with yogurt, fruit, cereal, bagels and danish. Dinners included a salad bar every night along with a changing menu. One night was enchiladas, rice, beans, chips/salsa, another nght was make your own deli sandwiches and chips, and another night was burgers, hot dogs, beans, and chips served outdoors. Beer and a red and white wine are served with dinner. Our servers David and Norma were friendly, and chatted with us as they refilled drinks, cleared plates and kept the dining room clean. One night they even brought cupcakes to our table for our mother's birthday and left a goodie basket in their room.

The pool area with hot tub was nice surrounded by lounge chairs, palms and plants. There were iron table and chairs for dining. All areas were clean and well kept.

We shared a two bedroom/ 2 bath suite. The room was nicely furnished and our king bed was very comfortable. There was even microwave popcorn in the room. And when we left an item in the room they sent it back to us.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSBjorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After reading fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor we decided on a 3 night stay on the San Diego leg of our SoCal and Vegas trip. We weren't disappointed, had a lovely one bedroom suite with a sofabed in the lounge for our daughter. Nice location, just off I5, a few miles north of central San Diego. The staff were very helpful and were more than happy to recommendations on local shoips, restaurants, beaches, and attractions in San Diego. It was a welcome change in the US to have a complimentary breakfast, shame other hotel chains don't do this. They even had a complimentary dinner on Monday to Thursday, with free beer!!! Overall, very impressed with hotel, staff, and would recommended to anything planning a trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed there for five nights. Four included a satisfactory free dinner and cocktails. Very good value for the money. Traffic was not an issue and access to a variety of activities was convenient. Very modern and clean. Full sized refrigerator in the room. Staff was much better than most places I have stayed. Breakfast was great, both in quantity and quality. Different hot choices daily. I will stay at a Homewood Suites again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool, but noise was never an issue.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnAZTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were not sure what to expect since we never stayed at a Homewood suite before.
Our room was clean big and we even had a kichenette if we wanted to cook for ourselves.
The staff was friendly and not only did we get a hot breakfast we also got dinner. Which we were quite surprised about. We ate there one night it was Phillycheese steak night. It was pretty good.
They also served beer and wine complementary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our suite felt like it was a home away from home. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The only thing I would recommend is if the shower had a bath tub to make it easier for the kids to bathe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Song V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a six-hour auto trip to San Diego from Las Vegas, we were met by an extremely friendly staff who went out of their way to accommodate our needs. They assisted with our luggage and gave us a briefing of what we could expect during our one-week stay. This included breakfast each morning and Monday through Thursday nights included dinner as well. The breakfast was delectable and had a large variety of food including scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bagels and toast, bacon and a selection of cereals, juices, tea and coffee. We looked forward to dinner and they also were superb and had different menus each night. Our room was spacious with a kitchenette, microwave, refrigerator/freezer and all the amenities you could ask for. We had a fantastic time and Homewood Suites was a memorable experience which we hope to revisit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms with kitchenettes are our favorite!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fneworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $139 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing