We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Homewood Suites!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved Homewood Suites!”
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. We stayed on the 4th floor and it was quiet. A breakfast buffet was included with the price. The hotel was probably full because the breakfast room was crowded every day when we were there. Lots of families with kids. The staff kept bringing out more food so nobody was waiting. Each day we had scrambled eggs, sausage & fried potatoes on Sat., corned beef hash on Sun. and bacon & fried potatoes on Mon. They also had waffles, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, juice, fresh fruit, oatmeal, & yogurt. The room was clean and cleaned every day. The thermostat easily adjustable with a continuously running fan if you want. (We do.)
The staff was pleasant and helpful. The parking was free. It is in a corporate area so there is only one restaurant next door at the Hilton. You have to drive a ways to the mall for other restuarants. But overall it was a very good experience!

  • Liked — it was a suite and it was clean
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    326
    89
    37
    12
See reviews for
775
219
43
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The room was clean and new. Staff was friendly and helpful. I tried printing my boarding passes, but the printer was not connected. The front desk clerk was not able to help but offered to print my boarding passes for me. Breakfast was good. Lots of families with kids though so don't expect a peaceful breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dougly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

We recently spent two nights at the Homewood Suites Del Mar.
The hotel was in a great location for us. We arrived about lunch time and were able to check in. We went next door to the Hilton Garden Inn for lunch(very good) and then we went to the Torrey Pines beach nearby-a very nice beach for a walk. This hotel is in a nice residential area-we woke up early(still on Central Time) and went for a walk around the hotel-we found a nice park area nearby with a walking trail.

The hotel has free internet access-a plus when you bring your laptop. The breakfast was very good and had different items each morning and the afternoon dinner and drinks(wine, beer, lemonade and tea) was very nice. We ate a nice lunch out both days and enjoyed just being able to have free dinner at the hotel.
The dinner also included salad-which was very good and fresh.

The pool area was also very nice. If you have a family or just a couple I think you will enjoy this hotel. We left after two nights to drive up the coast and this hotel is out of downtown San Diego so you are already in the direction you go to head to LA.

  • Liked — location, drinks and lite dinner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We recently stayed here with our 17 month old and loved this hotel because it was perfect for travel with a small child. There was plenty of space in the king size bed room for a playpen and it was great to be able to close the bedroom door (like at home) to give me and the hubby some alone time in the living room to watch movies or TV. It was also great to have a hot complimentary breakfast first thing in the morning, because as all other parents of a young child know, they want to eat right away when they wake up! They had pretty healthy options for kids like plenty of fresh fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs and bread. The hotel staff was very courteous and especially helpful in the breakfast rush (even helped tug a high chair in my direction), they were very eager to help and make sure breakfast ran smoothly for all. Also, it was great to have a kitchenette in the hotel room that you could use to cook something quick (if you have a picky eater) or store milk/formula if needed (has a refridgerator, microwave, dishwasher, and stocked cabinets with plates, silverware). This hotel was a little out of the way of the main attractions in San Diego (about 15 minutes away), but it was in a very safe, quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank idealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

A relatively new Hotel which offers all of the usual Hilton benefits so there are no surprises when you check in.Next door is a Hilton Garden which at the time of our stay was yet to open.The location was both good and bad. It was located in a business park area so at all times you needed to travel to find restaurants and shops. For the first few days , we never got back to the hotel the same way twice.But on the plus side ,it was not too far to San Diego by car or train and it was quiet at night.

In all , a nice clean hotel with a pool and plenty of free parking.

  • Liked — Good Standard
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seatle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We travel often and were excited about trying Homewood Suites in Del Mar. The front desk made a mistake with our reservation and replaced our room with a more expensive room. The fridge had old food in it, there were dead flies in two of the glasses in the cupboard and blood on the comforter. There were several other issues as well. We spoke to staff about our concerns that night and the following day. We asked them to comp one of our three nights. We were told it wouldn't be a problem and that they would get back to us immediately if it was.

Upon check-out two days later, we were told that they would not comp us a room and we would need to speak to the general manager, Anne Marie. The front desk staff told us she would call us immediately upon her return. A week and several messages later, she still had not called. We were eventually able to reach the owner of the property, Bob R.. We explained the situation and he told us he would call us back. He called 90 seconds later and stated, "after meeting with all the staff involved, I have determined you did not give us enough notice (48 hours) to remedy the situation and the decision stands. I am the owner of the hotel and that is my decision.

Clearly, he had no intention of refunding the money that his staff had committed to refund. But, that a business owner would not only lie to a customer (re: meeting with staff members) but would engage in rude, discourteous behavior leads me to write my first review encouraging potential guests to think twice about staying here.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank roedscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelguru01, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, April 14, 2008
I would like to begin by saying that the Homewood Suites San Diego/Del Mar is very proud of our award winning housekeeping staff that has won the STAR Suitekeeping award which is awarded to the 5 hotels out of the entire brand that consistently receive the highest scores from guests with regard to the cleanliness of the suites. The cleanliness of our suites is also evidenced by the positive responses that we have received from our reviewers on Trip Advisor. Although it is certainly not out of the realm of possibility to have one of the problems that this reviewer has mentioned occur in any hotel, it is highly unlikely that all three of these issues could have occurred on the same reservation.

Next, I would like to mention that our hotel's front desk staff is empowered to use the Homewood Suites "Suite Assurance" guarantee which states that if there is a problem with your reservation and you let us know what the issue is, then we will make it right or your night is free. If the guest had really mentioned any of her suites major issues to the front desk when she noticed them we would have immediately resolved her issue, moved her to another suite in the hotel or invoked the Suite Assurance Guarantee.

I really want to encourage all potential guests to read all of the positive reviews that we have received from people from all across the country in the past 3 years and you will see that this is an isolated event we not only believe did not occur but we spoke to the guest and believed her to be fabricating the alleged issues. Thank you very much for taking the time to read our reply.

Sincerely,
Robert A. Rauch, CHA
Owner
Homewood Suites by Hilton
11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway
San Diego, CA 92130

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

This hotel is definitely not to be missed if you have business or pleasure in the Del Mar/La Jolla area. It's actually one of the best suite hotels I've stayed in. In fact, the service and room quality has been so superb, I decided to actually write this review as I sit in my room.

My wife, daughter (2 years old) and I are down here visiting San Diego and have found this particular Homewood Suites to be the perfect home base for our vacation.

ABOUT THE ROOMS:
The rooms are all well appointed with tasteful furniture, granite counter tops (in kitchen too), LCD TV's, and pleasant color schemes. We opted for the 1br suite which separates the living area from the bedroom so that we could put our daughter to sleep and then retreat to the bedroom to watch a movie, read a book, and yes... even type this review. The King sized bed is comfortable, though I have to say that the Westin's "Heavenly Bed" is better. Pillows are abundant and of varying firmness so you're bound to find one or three that fit.

ABOUT THE SERVICE:
As I said before, the service has been superb. We unfortunately had to move rooms (see "GRIPES" section below) and the staff handled every detail except packing our things.

ABOUT THE AMENITIES:
The decor is a bit better than you might expect from a rural business-type hotel. There is a business center that has a computer you can use to print whatever you need. A decent little sundries corner where you can charge snacks and other necessities to your room, and a lounge/buffet area that is used to provide guests with complementary breakfasts and even dinners/drinks (through Thursday). The pool is outside and there appears to be a hot tub but I haven't been in either so I couldn't tell you how they are.

ABOUT THE PARKING:
Free... Abundant. There you go. There was an Embassy Suites around here that was going to charge us $17 a day. Now perhaps it's in a less business-like locale but quite frankly free is better, unless of course you're in a resort, downtown, or on the water. Even then free is better - if you can get it!!!

GRIPES:
Okay, so enough sunshine... every hotel has its down points. This one appears to be either the elephant that was staying above our room, or the relatively thin walls and noisy floor structure. The person above us stomped around so much that we couldn't get a decent night sleep (he/she apparently woke up around 5am too) and ultimately had to move rooms. It very well could be that that person was just a heavy-footed, rude individual, but judging from the muffled sound of the TV next door to our new room it's probably not the case. All in all you can set the fan to be "on" all the time while still maintaining temperature and it creates a nice white noise that pretty much drowns out neighbors (just not the stomping feed above you). My recommendation - GET A ROOM ON THE 4th Floor.

One other nit is the fact that in the South wing (4th floor only apparently) the intersperse their smoking and non-smoking rooms. The problem with this is the fact that the smoke smell seeps into the non-smoking rooms leaving them smelling rather rank. We know this to be the case because they moved us to one of those rooms and we had to be instantaneously moved again (the staff was great though... very accommodating). After settling into our "final" new-room we learned that the issue isn't a problem in the North wing as it is 100% non-smoking. Second recommendation - GET A ROOM IN THE NORTH WING.

That's about all I've got to say. Enjoy your stay and I would certainly recommend this place to a friend. I also know that we'll be back!

  • Liked — Room quality & staff
  • Disliked — Sound deadening quality of walls and floors
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank airdezaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing