We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
West Coast USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Quick family trip to San Diego. Hotel was spotless, with some minor upgrades going on in the lobby area (new mural painting?) Friendly staff who always had a smile and adequate breakfast. Our room was great and the bed was comfy. Internet speeds were fast and the kids had a wonderful time at the pool. Woul definitely return, the quality and value for the area are exceptional.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank N7FLIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    315
    86
    35
    11
See reviews for
750
211
42
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed at this location and the staff were superb. The hotel was sold out due to a girls softball tournament, so there were lots of giggling screaming little girls about the hotel. The staff kept order in the hotel, tended to the non tournament guests as well as the tournament guests, and we had a wonderful time. We had a very early checkout and the night manager sent us off with some wonderful muffins to have with our coffee on the way to the airport. This was BETTER THAN HOME. thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Once a month, I stay in the Del Mar Homewood Suites for a week on business. I started staying there because it was close to my office.

However, this hotel has met and surpassed all of my expectations. The rooms are quiet, comfortable, and spacious including a full-sized fridge, 2-burner stove, and sink.

I've enjoyed soaks in the hot tub, swims in the pool, light workouts in their gym, and the convenience of an onsite coinop laundry.

I eat their free breakfast frequently and enjoy it quite a bit. They've provided everything I've wanted. I can choose from filling eggs and waffles; or something lighter like fruit, yogurt, and cereal. I eat dinner there less often and have been less impressed, but it does fit the bill when I'm hungry and don't want to go anywhere. I've also observed that the dinner option is a very good kids option.

While I travel on business, I have spoken to families who stay there and they really like the pool, TV, and free meals.

Two things I would pay attention to if you decide to try this hotel.

First, the hotel's location is a 20/30 minute drive from attractions like the zoo, Marine World, and downtown. It is a shorter drive to Del Mar, La Jolla, Torrey Pines, and Scripps coastal reserve (beautiful with a beach!) It's also worth mentioning that there's a lot of business traffic in the area in the morning/evening.

2nd, AT&T cellphone reception is very poor. You can get rooms on the southeast, parking let facing, corner of the building that are adequate, but be aware that you may need to switch to a different room to get good AT&T cell coverage.

Overall, I really like this hotel and think they do an excellent job of taking care of their guests!

JIm

Room Tip: the _34 rooms are good for AT&T cell reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_W_Barbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I were visiting San Diego for our anniversary. This hotel was in a perfect location, close drive to everything, clean, nicely decorated, and the food was amazing. We even had a gift basket in our room when we checked in wishing us a happy anniversary. The staff at this location really went above and beyond. If we visit again we definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were extremely satisfied with the hotel. There was an issue with the comfort level of the sofa bed and within 15 minutes of advising the front desk, we had a brand new mattress in place. Very impressed with the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel and its staff is amazing. They are a wonderful family friendly place to stay. Can't go wrong staying here. Having a hot breakfast in the morning was very important to us and with this hotel you get that every morning included in your room.

Helpful?
Thank TorreysMom27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We try to stay in the Homewood Suites chain of hotels every chance we get. When we got to California, we weren't sure where we would be staying. We just happened to drive right by this Homewood. They promptly checked us in and helped us with anything we needed, especially driving directions. The staff was always very courteous from the front desk attendants to the cleaning staff. I've never been in a hotel where the cleaning staff always smiled and actually said hello to you when in the hallways. We were very satisfied with this hotel and all of their staff and amenities! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigoberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing