We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff really do go out of their way to be helpful. I have stayed at this Homewood Suites twice and plan to return again. Everything in the hotel is excellent condtition: the rooms, the lobby, the elevators, the gym.... I hardly ever review hotels, but whover is running this one is doing a fantastic joc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pottymouth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    294
    81
    32
    11
See reviews for
705
196
40
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I usually book Homewood Suites when I can and the Del Mar property is a good example.

Location is convenient but not many restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Bistro 39 in the adjoining property was a really nice option. The decor is typical Homewood Suites, which is warm and inviting. My room was nice and clean. I always enjoy having the full kitchen and big fridge...even if I don't use it much.

Ample free parking and of course the breakfast and evening food really top off the experience.

The staff during my visit was top notch! Everyone I interacted with had a smile on their face and were very friendly and helpful. I had to do some laundry and didn't realize there was a 10pm closing time for the coin laundry but the front desk checked and since the room next to the laundry room was vacant, they let me use the facility. I really appreciated it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Conveniently located right off the 5. Friendly, accommodating staff. Relaxing pool and jaccuzzi area. Good breakfast. Complimentary Internet. Quick drive to beautiful Del Mar. Right up the road is a shopping center with a grocery store, restaurants, bagel store, nail salon, and Subway. King size bed and linens were very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Chose this place for our Spring break base while in San Diego based on the reviews, cost and location. We were not disappointed. The suites are spacious, very clean have everything you need should you wish to self cater. The front desk supply you with dish soap and dishwasher powder if you haven't brought your own. The hotel provides hot meals Mon-Thurs with alcohol and this saves families a huge amount in terms of time and money. We are particular about what we eat but we're really impressed with quality, presentation and organization of meals, including breakfast. The managers are visible and work as a team with staff who set up the meals, this was impressive. The pool and hot tub are great for kids, after a day at the beach or attraction it was a welcome refuge. Don't be put off by the hotels location its within 15 minutes of most attractions and beaches. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place without doubt. Two things that could improve, don't let guests make their own waffles, accident waiting to happen if kids are doing it and I am sure the staff at this place would welcome parents teaching their kids some manners, especially politeness when asking staff for something and please and thank you. Also bums on seats when eating and not running around! Apart from those two things, the first really again due to other parents not supervising their kids...You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201, nice size for two adults and three kids, quiet and out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

SPacious studio rooms. excellent internet access (wired and wireless) which is very important to me since I do most of my work online and only come here on business. spacious studio rooms! clean! STAFF? just awesome! JIN is very accomodating, I forgot the other one who checked me in, friendly as she can be, made me feel at home already. definitely will stay here again on my next business trip!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rate are great and worth your money! quiet and very comfortable bed and room! SPACIOUS!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aughnayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a great stay go bad when some one elses breifs were found in our room. Also had no shower curtain and no duvets on our comforters. All our issues were taken care of and because of these negative issues the hotel comp'ed one night. The rooms were clean and the complimentary breakfast was top notch. The managers recption food was also 1st class. Enjoyed the stay even with the issues that we had. Would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at this Homewood Suites from 3/30-4/6/13 in a 1 BR suite with a king bed. The room was clean, and the bed comfortable (there is also a couch bed in the living room that pulls out). The suite was equipped with a small kitchen with a full size refrigerator which was useful. The breakfast buffets were generally good with options to make your own waffles. The evening "welcome home" reception Mon-Thursday is a great value. We ate our dinner there 3 times. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The pool is small but heated and clean (the weather was cool during our week there so the heated feature was critical).
This Homewood is north of downtown and La Jolla, but close enough that we could easily go into San Diego. The location was also useful for going to Legoland which is in Carlsbad 20 miles north.

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 floors. The rooms that face the courtyard (with the pool) are more pleasant althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porcupine-415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing