We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,743)
Filter reviews
1,743 results
Traveler rating
1,184
370
120
47
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,184
370
120
47
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary breakfast and dinner mon thurs evening reception stove top full kitchen bedroom suite home away from home front desk staff torrey pines yogurt sofa bed living area the breakfast area sea world family vacation the entire staff business center
Filter
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 1,743 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I are from Orlando and were in San Diego for my husband’s surgery at UCSD Thornton. The staff at Homewood Suite/Del Mar, particularly Ann Marie, Andrew and Mark, were enormously helpful. On the day of my husband’s surgery, our rental car would not start. Mark immediately jumped into action and secured us a ride to the hospital. In addition, Ann Marie and Andrew worked diligently to accommodate our needs. We are in a spacious, two bedroom, two bathroom suite with a full kitchen and work area. The property is very clean and in a nice neighborhood but the staff is the property’s biggest draw.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife, 2 daughters and I visit San Diego regularly. We tried many different hotels in the area. Now we just book the Homewood Suites Del Mar without any discussion.
First, the type of hotel fits us. We need separate bedrooms and a full kitchen. We also like the convenient location next to I-5.
But what really keeps us coming back is the great service. The people working the front desk and restaurant areas are both friendly and helpful.
We have already booked our next stay.

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank fedwin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suite by Hilton San Diego/Del Mar for a week in August of 2012. We were extremely impressed with the service we received and the hotel was very clean and well maintained. The complimentary breakfasts and dinners were perfect for a family traveling with small children like we were. The only issue we had, and it was minor, was that the bathroom didn't vent very well and it was hard to get swimming suits and towles used at the beach or pool to dry properly. Our room was clean and quite comfy. My wife travels regularly and can be very picky about hotels and she found this to be a great facility.

We did not find the hotel's location to be a problem for getting to major attractions in the area. It is very close to the Interstate and we never had any traffic problems getting to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Safari Park, or the USS Midway. The Village of Del Mar is a short drive away and has some of the best beaches in the area. The hotel also had beach chairs and umbrella you could use which came in very handy. Yes, you are in a business park type area, but great attractions and restaurants are only a minutes drive away.

We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to San Diego, especially with kids.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ended up at the Homewood Suites Hotel at the last minute after leaving a bad home rental situation. The whole two days we were there, we kept pinching oursleves with happiness that we were there in the clean, courtous and customer service oriented environment! It was wonderful! Thank you! Everything about our stay was perfect.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindymilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very nice, the rooms were clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly. Having the "suite" was great for the two of us as basically we each had our own room with television. The room also had a small kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and stove, all were new and in great condition, basic cooking utensils and dishes were provided. This came in handy as there was not a restaurant in the hotel, although they did offer complimentary breakfast and a one item dinner (i.e cheesy enchiladas) Monday thru Thursday.

The location was the main issue, this hotel is in an industrial or business area that is isolated from restaurants, especially not close enough to walk to anything.

Also there was no movie channels available so that my daughter in law could order movies while I went to meetings

I would absolutely recommend the hotel just be aware of what you are booking.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjb2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews