We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my one week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I travel domestically often and recently had ocassion to book Homewood Suites in San Diego for our stay. We could not have been more impressed with their staff. We interacted with many members of their staff during our week there and found them all to be extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel itself was conveniently located, ( about 3 miles to the coast ) quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. I highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to the San Diego area

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I are from Orlando and were in San Diego for my husband’s surgery at UCSD Thornton. The staff at Homewood Suite/Del Mar, particularly Ann Marie, Andrew and Mark, were enormously helpful. On the day of my husband’s surgery, our rental car would not start. Mark immediately jumped into action and secured us a ride to the hospital. In addition, Ann Marie and Andrew worked diligently to accommodate our needs. We are in a spacious, two bedroom, two bathroom suite with a full kitchen and work area. The property is very clean and in a nice neighborhood but the staff is the property’s biggest draw.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife, 2 daughters and I visit San Diego regularly. We tried many different hotels in the area. Now we just book the Homewood Suites Del Mar without any discussion.
First, the type of hotel fits us. We need separate bedrooms and a full kitchen. We also like the convenient location next to I-5.
But what really keeps us coming back is the great service. The people working the front desk and restaurant areas are both friendly and helpful.
We have already booked our next stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank fedwin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suite by Hilton San Diego/Del Mar for a week in August of 2012. We were extremely impressed with the service we received and the hotel was very clean and well maintained. The complimentary breakfasts and dinners were perfect for a family traveling with small children like we were. The only issue we had, and it was minor, was that the bathroom didn't vent very well and it was hard to get swimming suits and towles used at the beach or pool to dry properly. Our room was clean and quite comfy. My wife travels regularly and can be very picky about hotels and she found this to be a great facility.

We did not find the hotel's location to be a problem for getting to major attractions in the area. It is very close to the Interstate and we never had any traffic problems getting to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Safari Park, or the USS Midway. The Village of Del Mar is a short drive away and has some of the best beaches in the area. The hotel also had beach chairs and umbrella you could use which came in very handy. Yes, you are in a business park type area, but great attractions and restaurants are only a minutes drive away.

We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to San Diego, especially with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ended up at the Homewood Suites Hotel at the last minute after leaving a bad home rental situation. The whole two days we were there, we kept pinching oursleves with happiness that we were there in the clean, courtous and customer service oriented environment! It was wonderful! Thank you! Everything about our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very nice, the rooms were clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly. Having the "suite" was great for the two of us as basically we each had our own room with television. The room also had a small kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and stove, all were new and in great condition, basic cooking utensils and dishes were provided. This came in handy as there was not a restaurant in the hotel, although they did offer complimentary breakfast and a one item dinner (i.e cheesy enchiladas) Monday thru Thursday.

The location was the main issue, this hotel is in an industrial or business area that is isolated from restaurants, especially not close enough to walk to anything.

Also there was no movie channels available so that my daughter in law could order movies while I went to meetings

I would absolutely recommend the hotel just be aware of what you are booking.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjb2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am now a big fan of Homewood suites and will go out of my way to stay in one if it is within budget. The breakfasts are excellent, and they provide a nice light dinner/snack in the evening. This particular Homewood Suites is very clean, very friendly staff, and great housekeepers. The rooms are very nice, with a full refrigerator/freezer, stovetop, sink, microwave. Great job Hilton - you have earned my business.

Room Tip: Room 202 had some strange noises above at night/early evening - could be noise from elevator??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdrdanhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 278 in San Diego
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $116 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing