We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for extended stays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great for extended stays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have stayed more at Homewood Suites Del Mar in 2012 that I have at home. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by the white glove service extended to me. Plus, the food is awesome at breakfast and the welcome reception. Nice and comfy. You wouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    294
    81
    32
    11
See reviews for
705
196
40
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mideast U.S.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The lobby and breakfast area here are kept up very nice. The staff was friendly and the free wi-fi, coffee, and other amenities were very good.

The room itself had a very worn look to it. Carpet stains, rust showing through paint on metal hinges, a dated coil top stove, the bathroom door scraped the vanity area light whenever you opened it, ironing board was dirty, etc. The place was not gross, don't get me wrong, it is just showing it's age.

I did get the impression that everything was cleaned and well maintained, if not a bit worn. I would stay here again if I had to do business in the immediate area. The rooms were a good size with two large flat screens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcFrancois, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We would like to first, thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor. Feedback like yours is critical in helping us deliver the highest standard of guest service and accommodations.

We would like to express our sincerest apologies that you were unhappy with the state of your suite. I have personally discussed this with our housekeeping team, to ensure you that if any of the products or fixtures in the suite are replaced when they fall below our very high standard. Furthermore, I'd like you to know that we will be upgrading our bedding package and replacing all of our easy chairs over the next year, with other in-room changes scheduled down the road. We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us the next time you are in San Diego.

Thank you again for your patronage, and your comments. If there are any further questions, comments, or follow-up items I may be able to address for you, please don't hesitate to contact me directly anytime. We're very sorry that your stay was not one-of-a-kind, and we hope to be able to welcome you back and provide you with one-of-a-kind service very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel was everthing that one would expect from a homewood suites - comfortable, clean, well appointed room, friendly staff, good free food (breakfast and evening reception). The location was convenient to the interstate, but far enough away to be quiet. Make sure you look up directions first as the hotel is a little hard to find.
Drawback - very few dining options near the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Off the beaten path, clean suite, free parking, complimentary breakfast. The suite was perfect for this family of 2 parents and a teenager. Board games need to be replaced, but front desk loaned us a deck of cards. Front desk and housekeeping very professional and helpful. After very busy days, it was nice to return to our quiet "home". This is the first hotel (ever!) that we did not hear slamming doors and loud guests in the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hixona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Beautiful site, often-empty pool, handy to have supper provided, spacious suite, but most important is the friendly staff. Techno-savvy for those of us who aren't, knowledgeable about the area, never too busy to help you out. And they don't make you feel rushed if you want to linger an hour (or 2) in the dining room.

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost for a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Homewood offers very comfortable rooms. The hotel is very quiet and in a nice area. There is easy access to freeways. They offer a variety of foods for breakfast that would please all types of preferences. In the evening they offer a dinner meal that has to be one of the best around. Each night is different with a salad, main course and an array of beverages including complimentary beer and wine.

Room Tip: Stay on the thrid floor the first week and the second floor the second week both were exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It is very rare to find such a nice hotel where everything works just perfect and the people working in it are simply nice, polite and always in a good mood.
I strongly suggest you to try it out. The guys working at the bar/restaurant are super friendly so is the manager.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carofabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Address: 11025 Vista Sorrento Parkway, San Diego, CA 92130-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Torrey Hills, near Torrey Pines Beach, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Diego-Del Mar was specially designed to provide you with a secluded, stress-free stay. Our contemporary studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites provide a true residential feel with all the comforts and luxuries of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego-Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing