We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gyros”
Review of Greek Islands Cafe

Greek Islands Cafe
Ranked #288 of 4,773 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Greek Islands Cafe has been open in the same location for 34 years. With our picturesque views and amazing homemade food, its has been a local favorite for many years and hopefully years to come. All our desserts are made in house and well as some of our specialties like Pasticcio and Spanakopits as well as Dolmades.
Yorba Linda
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Gyros”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Every time we come to San Diego, my wife wants to visit Seaport Village despite being touristy and pricey........and every time we come.....we also stop at the Greek Island Café. I see a mixed bag of review ratings but every time we've been here, we had great service and great food for the money. Undoubtedly there may be other better places, but we have always enjoyed this little Greek restaurant. The gyro whether in a platter or simple sandwich is delicious and plentiful. Wife likes the chicken along with the salads.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    79
    24
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“People watching location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A jug of beer and time to sit, relax and watch the perambulating public. For this, the cafe is an excellent location. We ate the chicken salad; pub grub to compliment the beer and allow us to just soak up the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank royparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't like it at all”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The food is not good. It is probably the worst Greek food I have ever had. The restaurant is also a little dirty. The location and the water view are nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oenovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Quick Greek Place”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Conveniently located right by the water, the Midway museum, and various harbor cruises this is a great place to pick up a light Greek lunch. Friendly and fast service to eat in or take out. The Gyros and Souvlaki were surprisingly light and delicious. Do yourself a favor and order some baklava, you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A nice suprise”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We enjoyed having a stop for a meal here. It was good food at a reasonable price. We went back two or three times, to try a little of everything.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing