We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greek Islands Cafe

Greek Islands Cafe
Ranked #299 of 4,676 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Greek Islands Cafe has been open in the same location for 34 years. With our picturesque views and amazing homemade food, its has been a local favorite for many years and hopefully years to come. All our desserts are made in house and well as some of our specialties like Pasticcio and Spanakopits as well as Dolmades.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The location, right by the bay, is beautiful. It's self service and I thought the price reflected the amount of food you get. The gyros was good. The Dolmades were not my taste at all, and they are usually my favorite. I would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank csmarceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    70
    18
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Basic, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Not cheap but no more expensive than anywhere else in the area.
Freshly prepared food and very tasty.
If you like greek food this is good.

Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not black tie, but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here on a Groupon special, but we'd go back anytime. It's one of the many small cafes at Seaport Village, but in its own way, a standout. I'd give it a 5, but I generally reserve that for the fancier spots. Okay, it's not fancy. In fact, it's order-at-the-counter, so it's not much on ambiance; but those things aside, the food is very good and very plentiful at a very reasonable price. Another plus is that it has a nice view of the harbor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank schoens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Greek Restaurant in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been eating here for thirty-forty years. The ambience is Greek, the Muzak is Greek songs, you can view the sailboats on San Diego Bay. So if you're like us, and have never been to Greece, this is the closest we can get. We almost always have the Gyro Platter with extra meat and pita - which makes it just right for two; the meat is delicious and the Greek Salad is also. They serve been and wine, and sitting outside on a sunny day ,listening to the Greek music, is one of our most enjoyable dining experiences in San Diego.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank parkinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Have to eat here. Best Gyros on the planet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Well second trip here since we got into San Diego on sat. That should say it all.
Anything you order WILL be plentiful n delish!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Cafe also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Greek Islands Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing