We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopping nightlife, great breakfast”

Waterfront Bar & Grill
Ranked #397 of 4,802 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: N/a
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hopping nightlife, great breakfast”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Bar was really packed on Friday night; fun atmosphere, young crowd. We're older, so we stuck around for a drink and moved on, but...

Breakfast on Sunday was delicious; not as packed and more diverse age demo, but still pretty crowded.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2bikerbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    15
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Great Bar with personality”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Supposedly the Waterfront is the oldest bar in SD. I just loved its "homey" read "divvy" nature, great service and excellent location. Nop wine snobs here just beer, football and great weather!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bosox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Oldest bar in San Diego c.1933”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place reminded us of our favorite bars in Key West. We never ate here but I understand that their burgers are pretty good. The drinks are good and not too pricey. The atmosphere is fairly typical for a popular bar, a little loud, but cheerful and fun. Always crowded.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is the classic burger "dive".
Lots of draft beer, plenty on burger combos, and sassy staff.
Stop by and watch the people, professionals, bikers, retirees.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Old bar where fisherman used to frequent and blow off a little steam. Fun place to go...beware if you want peace and quiet this is not the place to go...which is fine because I like to get a little rowdy sometimes.....Food is fine. Try their chili...yummy. Best drink is their Long Islands...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing