We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest bar in San Diego c.1933”

Waterfront Bar & Grill
Ranked #371 of 4,776 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: N/a
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Oldest bar in San Diego c.1933”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place reminded us of our favorite bars in Key West. We never ate here but I understand that their burgers are pretty good. The drinks are good and not too pricey. The atmosphere is fairly typical for a popular bar, a little loud, but cheerful and fun. Always crowded.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    15
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is the classic burger "dive".
Lots of draft beer, plenty on burger combos, and sassy staff.
Stop by and watch the people, professionals, bikers, retirees.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Old bar where fisherman used to frequent and blow off a little steam. Fun place to go...beware if you want peace and quiet this is not the place to go...which is fine because I like to get a little rowdy sometimes.....Food is fine. Try their chili...yummy. Best drink is their Long Islands...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, good friends, good fun”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you don't like the Oldest Tavern in San Diego, and rubbing elbows with a fisherman, fireman, policeman or a member of our Country's Military Volunteers, then you probably don't like Mom or Apple Pie, either!.

They call this a dive bar, so don't forget your bathing suit!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Glad to visit the oldest bar in San Diego!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My friend took me to Waterfront Bar. When we got there all outdoor tables were taken but we were welcomed to a table shared by some locals. The doorman was super friendly and gave me the brief history of the bar and the bartender was also friendly and made excellent drinks. You must go in and order as drinks are not served to the outside tables. Oh, and the free popcorn? THE BEST!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank renodecor8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing