We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
704 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2408 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 4,534 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“You can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Only stopped by for breakfast...every day we were in town. It's so affordable and absolutely amazing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    191
    60
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good, but Ranked Too High”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went here because it was close to our hotel, and ranked so high on Trip Advisor. Okay, Number 4? This is a place with simple breakfast fare in huge portions for cheap. Don't get me wrong, the food is good, but compared to what is available in San Diego I really don't think this is the 4th greatest restaurant in San Diego....

If you are in the area and hungry, then by all means check it out. You will be full at the end of your meal and not unhappy. Bring cash; no credit cards here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dsaxon9454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

fun and simple. The food portions are huge and very good. not a lot of flash or flare, but well worth the experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2007newoceanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast near the pier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We got here right at 7 when they open and there was already a line down the block. We had the breakfast sammie, burrito and Kono potatoes. Amazing.

Great service, charming atmosphere and unbeatable price!

Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie_Beebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After reading all the hype about Kono's, I made it a must-try for a recent trip to San Diego. In a word, great. The lineups are well-earned.

The value is excellent -- portions are massive and those with moderate appetites may want to share. I found I could eat breakfast in the morning and then last until supper time. Food is fantastic, from their burritos to their more traditional breakfast plates. After visiting on our first morning, Kono's wound up being our go-to breakfast location.

Tip: For tourists, it might not be apparent that there's additional seating deck that overlooks the ocean. We didn't find out until after we'd been there for a couple of days.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamsandwich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing