We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Breakfast and Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
Ranked #14 of 4,615 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were fortunate that Kono's was right next to our hotel for the week we were in San Diego. We made daily visits, first because of the good reviews, and then because we loved it. It took a couple of days to realize that the outdoor seating was both next to the restaurant AND across the 'boardwalk', behind the shop. Once we found the oceanfront seating, there was no going back, although the people watching from the outdoor seating was good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovechina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    208
    63
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place at Pacific Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located right at the Pacific Pier this is a very nice place to have a breakfast. Very fast service, you cue at the ordering window and order and it will be delivered to your table. Not the healthiest of BF but soooo tasty and delicious. There is another outside patio across the street behind the rental shop. Stop here for a breakfast and you will not regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lothar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in Pacific Beach, maybe San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

There is a queue out of the door at 7am in the morning. Just the most delicious breakfast menu ever. Go for the big breakfast and share between two - otherwise don't eat for three days! Choice of three seating areas, two outdoors looking out over the Ocean and watching the walking and surfers.

Good coffee too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Huge portions of rich heavy breakfast - not really my thing but nice chilled beach vibe on the plus side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really as good as they say.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were sent here by a local working at our hotel. We were told it is worth the wait in line, and it was. Also, wait wasn't that long, line moved very fast. Great breakfast. I had French Toast and my husband had some kind of egg scramble...portions were good size but I could have eaten more, wow it was really good. Go there during your visit to the beach!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank a_raquel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing