We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful breakfast meal, very filling..best ever”
Review of Kono's Cafe

Kono's Cafe
Ranked #6 of 4,771 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast meal, very filling..best ever”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had Big Breakfast Number 2 each morning of my SD stay, phenomenal. Everything in it, piled high, soaked in syrup - delicious. $5.66 including tax

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    221
    66
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, co
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast of champions!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It looks a little shabby and you eat of a plastic plate sitting in a plastic chair, but my, the food is sooooo good. Enormous portions, very hot and tasty. The breakfast sandwich is fantastic and my husband could not get enough of the breakfast burritos. You can easily share a breakfast and just pay for the extra plate. We were here out of season and so no problems but we heard it can get crazy busy on weekends and in the summer. They have limited seating inside and a little terrace across the road. Coffee is not very good inside but we heard the coffee stand outside is better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree2916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Yummy! We ate breakfast 2 mornings in a row during our 4 day stay on Mission Beach. The breakfast burritos are AMAZING! Way too much food for one person and at an amazing price! We also tried the eggs and pancakes. SOOO good! The line was long but moved rather quickly and the food came out really fast. Well worth the wait!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate breakfast here this morning and were very impressed by both the food and friendliness of the workers. While the interior is nothing special, it is comfortable and you are really here for the food. I had the breakfast burrito #1, and it was stuffed with eggs and sausage and even avocado- yum! I also had the fresh orange juice and wished I had gotten the large! My husband was very happy with his plate, a scramble with potatoes and an English muffin. Neither one of us actually finished our food so be aware that the portions are large, but very good food! We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go Hungry”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Family of 6 (grown kids) went for breakfast. Usually the boys wipe their plates clean, but not here. They actually had a hard time finishing - huge portions, very yummy scrambled eggs, quesadillas and other breakfast dishes. Coffee from inside is poor though - go to their small coffee stand out back instead. Seating is limited, so go off hours if possible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyS155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kono's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kono's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing