We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamburger Perfection”
Review of Hodad's

Hodad's
Ranked #10 of 4,776 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
Frederick, md
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hamburger Perfection”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the best burger I have ever had and have been telling people in Maryland this for over 15 years. It is the one place I make sure I go to every time I go back and visit San Diego. I last went here in August while I was out there for my Bachelor party and brought 10 guys from back here with me. When you talk a place up so much you worry that hey it's been great in the past but maybe it's not as I remember it you know now that it has been on tv multiple times and they have opened other locations. Well there are no such worries here. Within bites my friends were calling it the GOAT. There is just something special about it. It's not a fancy burger with any tricks done to it but the bacon patties are a bit unique and original. I think it's just the perfect crunch of the toppings. I will be back out there in a little over a week and can't wait. I also can't wait to buy a new Hodad's shirt, that should make 6 for me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drunksweet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    428
    128
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Greasy juicy goodness from hamburgerheaven”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hodad = "Person on/around the beach posing as a surfer"

+
Great juicy burgers with fresh add-ons
Tasty LARGE shakes
Crispy onion rings & fries
Nice location right by ocean beach
Cool interior

-
Burgers can be a bit hard to eat and fall apart with too much on
Lines can be loooooong due to the popularity

Prices are ok for the quality and abit above the normal chain burger but still worth it.
The closest chain burger i would compare Hodad's burger with is the excellent Fatburger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best burger i have tried in San Diego”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The place is really different and really nice. indeed is really busy, but totally worth it!
Para Brasileiros: é muito gostoso e barato e gigante. muito legal, principalmente o de downtown.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarcisiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Eclectic, affordable, good burgers”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The location is pretty neat; it seems a bit sketchy but not necessarily in a bad way. Burger baskets run from $9 to $11 and soft drinks are $2.50. My advice: unless you REALLY want fries or rings, just get the burger-it'll be plenty and the sides didn't impress. Wait was 10 minutes for 2 which was impressive, but that's probably because the feel inside is a bit rushed. The value is high, the burgers were pretty good, but the service wasn't the best and neither was the feel of the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxlonerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great burgers & decor lol”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I haven't been here in ages but every time I am in San Diego I always forget about this place. Hodad's has some good messy big burgers. I don't normally finish it when I get a burger here. Onion rings and milk shakes are amazing. An old ex friends husband would just drive to Hodad's just for their milk shakes. Funny because he would have to haul his wife and at the time their 3 kids.

Long lines every time I go. Great service, a little cramped and atmosphere is like a surfer dudes place-ish but covered in license plates.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kordelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodad's also viewed

 

Been to Hodad's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing