We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Diego icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hodad's

Hodad's
Ranked #13 of 4,724 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“San Diego icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is where to go to get real San Diego food. Better than In 'n' Out and the tatooed orner is a real sweet heart of a guy. Very very basic and and if you are watching your weight you can order your burger without a bun. The fries are to die for and now that there is one at Petco Park you can even have one of these great burgers at the ball game...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    418
    124
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tularosa, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Is vert crowded, which means the food is great! but too noisy for me. Everything on the menu is good. A must for all visitors.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best burgers and like it's 1968 all over again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place was like a time capsule for me. It's hard to describe the atmosphere, but think 1960's. Excellent burgers. We were early enough we did not have to stand in line. I understand there usually is a line and I now understand why there usually is a line!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Special_Deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty burgers, funky digs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I occasionally like a big tasty burger, and Hodad's is well-known for a reason. Their burgers are yummy, and the big fries and onion rings are awesome. It is not by any stretch healthy, so I don't go often! Usually you have to wait in line for a table 5-30 minutes, with about 20 minutes being standard during dinner hours on the weekends. It's loud, crowded, and small, but that is part of the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurelsSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheap, greasy goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Super popular OB dive with good, greasy burgers and brews. Get the frings, the small feeds 3 people!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodad's also viewed

 

Been to Hodad's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing