We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of City Barbeque

City Barbeque
Ranked #561 of 4,771 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
Whittier, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is by far my favorite BBQ restaurant while traveling to San Diego. The food is great and the prices are extremely reasonable. I've been here about 3 of 4 times and I have never been disappointed in this place. It's right down the street from the beach, so parking can be a bit challenging, but keep driving around, you'll eventually find a spot. It's not a very big restaurant and at times you will find a line to order food, but it's definitely worth the wait. Very casual restaurant since it mainly caters to people going to or coming from the beach.

I have ordered the Family Meal Deal which includes a full rack of ribs, a whole chicken and four medium side orders. You can have it served with garlic bread of pita bread, I recommend the garlic bread to sop up the extra BBQ sauce that's on the plate. The price for all of this is only about $38. One of the times I ordered this, it fed 4 adults and 6 children under 7. Plus we still had food left over. Not only is this plenty of food, it is very delicious. I've also had the beef BBQ sandwich, also very scrumptious.

If you're a BBQ fan, while in San Diego, you should definitely hit this place up.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank FitTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“November 2012”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good food, the restaurant is across the street from the hotel, good service, and the prices are reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BBQ Heaven”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If there was a heaven, this place would be it. Large portions and amazing bbq sauce with different levels of hotness. Better than Phils, hands down....and its by the beach! All their sides are amazing and I especially love their mac and cheese. Perfect addition with the pulled pork bbq sandwich. Their prices are so reasonable and the employees have all been great everytime I've been in. Definitely my favorite restaurant in OB.

The only complaint is the delivery service....its from a third party that goes and picks it up and they take fooooorever. We tried the service just to see how it was. I told them I was paying with cash but when the guy arrived, he didn't have any change and the "no more than 30 mins" I was quoted turned into about 1 hour and 15 mins. If I would have known it was a different company, I would've picked it up myself.

Again, the delivery service isn't on The BBQ House but I definitely wouldn't be using that company for my establishment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The BBQ was melt in your mouth yummy! The sauce was to die for. The price perfect! My favorite was the Californian

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AliciaRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ beef sandwich”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

My friend took me to this place last week and I really enjoyed it. I tried the southern style BBQ beef sandwich it came with coke slaw on it. It was really good. I also liked their fries too. I liked the place so much I went back again a couple days later to being my sister. I would totally recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleylynn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing