We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland, tasteless Mexican food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Fandango Restaurant - CLOSED

El Fandango Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bland, tasteless Mexican food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We ate here today and I wish I had checked some reviews before doing so. We ate right at the noon hour and I know it was a Monday, but this place was dead. We were the only ones in the restaurant and after getting our food I can see why. My husband had the taco and relleno combo and I had the special of the day, taco and cheese enchilada. There's no way the food could have been freshly prepared as we had our food in under three minutes. It would have taken longer than that to bread and fry the relleno and assemble the tacos. Anyway, the food was bland, no flavor and although hot, from the microwave I'm guessing, just very disappointing. The worst Mexican food I have eaten. I have had way better food at some of the local chain restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    13
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Inexperienced Server, Poor Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Touring Old Town on a quiet Monday, we weren't surprised to see only one other party in the restaurant at 12:30. Perhaps that was a signal we shouldn't have overlooked.

Service was terrible. In fairness, it did appear that our server was "filling in" as he was dressed more like a bus person than a waiter and seemed unsure of himself in many aspects of service. About half way through our stay another server appeared in a more "fancy" uniform and took care of newly arriving guests. Perhaps he could have guided our person, but he didn't.

Food was simply not good. We both had combo plates with rice and beans, enchiladas and beef tacos. Our server came back twice to recheck as to what combo plate we ordered. Maybe he was trying to tell us something? In any case, neither of us liked the food.

We had a discount coupon and when we received the bill it was impossible to read or understand with all the miscalculations and recalculations and cross-outs. The server tried to explain it, but I couldn't understand it. It looked "in the ballpark" so I said okay. While processing our credit card he came back to say the figure had changed once again.

Throughout the whole process, our server was constantly apologetic and tried very hard to please and was quick to tell us when he made a mistake. I felt bad for him, Again, he looked and acted like an inexperienced person filling in. If so, shame on both the manager on duty (and the experienced waiter who later arrived) for not pitching in to help. Inexcusable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipper300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
708 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have eaten here on other occasions but this time we were disappointed. Meals took an inordinate amount of time to arrive at the table, particularly since they were not busy. Had the salmon, which was good, but the veggies were overcooked and the rice was ordinary. Wife had the fajitas, which she said were average. Service was haphazard. Will choose somewhere else the next time we visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced run of the mill Mexican food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just your standard Mexican food. Highlight was the table side Guac. Way overpriced for what they serve you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

El Fandango is within a stone's throw of the Cosmopolitan where I was staying. I will admit to being lured into El Fandango the first time with the 15% off coupon, but the second time I told them to keep the coupon because I would eat there anyhow. Both meals I ate there were lunch, and both experiences were very good. The staff were attentive and nice. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. I had the combination plate that had a cheese enchilada, chili relleno, and a soft beef taco. I think it was less than $11, which is reasonable where I come from. The salsa was excellent. It's not the kind of place that is so unusual and outstanding you'd write home about it. El Fandango serves good food in a comfortable atmosphere for a reasonable price, and that deserves at least 4 stars in my book.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Special_Deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fandango Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing