We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good amenities, great employees!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Ranked #128 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, good amenities, great employees!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recently stayed at the Howard Johnson in the San Diego SeaWorld/airport location and I was pleasantly surprised. I was there for a Marine Corp Recruit Depot graduation and the hotel not only had a free shuttle to and from the airport but also to the depot! We didn't have to rent a car so it definitely saved us money!

The rooms were nice and tidy and clean as was the bathroom. They came with a tv, complimentary coffee machine in the room and even a free breakfast! Let me just say I've stayed at hotels four times as expensive and they didn't have free WiFi or a free breakfast like the Howard Johnson!

Their checkout time is 11am and the graduation was after 12pm but our flight home wasn't til nighttime however Dobri and Rachana (the employees at the front desk) just completely excelled in customer service! They were AMAZINGLY accommodating! They just went above and beyond in helping us get our shuttle hours earlier than previously scheduled and also letting us store our big, bulky, heavy luggage after checkout time so we could attend the graduation ceremony without carrying it with us.

If/when I come back to San Diego I'll definitely try to stay here again. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our hotel has “good location, good amenities” and “great employees”. As you mentioned, we do offer shuttle services, in addition to a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to benefit from both of them during your stay. We take pride in providing excellent quality service and are touched that you took not of it. Once again, thank you in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    401
    279
    96
    60
See reviews for
609
243
85
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curlew, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The staff went above & beyond for us. They were so helpful, courteous & genuinely professional. A big Thank You especially to: Dobri, Nala, Dave & Kaila! We really appreciated all of their help, info. & hospitality. The housekeeping & breakfast staff were also very friendly & happy! We had no problems getting breakfast & plenty of choices & lots of food, especially when you're having to feed two Marines! We would definitely stay there again. I agree the shuttle could run later than 8 pm, we had 2 really friendly drivers & 1 that was pretty rude & grumpy. But all in all even the shuttle was a nice thing to have! The hotel & rooms are a little outdated, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast, to fill even the deepest of hungers, and are glad you were able to enjoy that during your stay. We strive to always provide fantastic quality service and are please to know we accomplished just that. Thank you again for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego near SeaWorld and hope to see you again during your next stay in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

not in a good area of town strip clubs and homeless everywhere. ice machine was broke and was told oh well from the desk. The bathroom didnt even have a shower curtain. first time an a howard johnson and will never be trying another. pizza delivery wouldnt even go there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quatsinobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing some time in reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and concerns as it is invaluable to us. Please know that these items will be brought up to our staff’s attention immediately so future guests won’t run into similar situations in the future. Thank you again for providing us with feedback regarding your stay with us. We hope you will reconsider and give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
744 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#223 of 279 in San Diego
1,220 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Property: Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing