We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the location was not so good for a non-driving guest but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Ranked #129 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    401
    280
    97
    60
See reviews for
612
243
85
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our stay was fantastic. It's not a super flashy place but it's definitely one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever stayed at. Normally I check the crevasses in the bathroom and against the walls and everything was clean and dusted. It appeared as though the bathroom was recently updated and it was kept clean as well.

The woman who works the continental breakfast area from 6:30 - 8:30 (at least that's when we were there), on the weekdays is AWESOME - give her a raise - she was super helpful and very friendly. This also goes for the front desk staff. I was greeted warmly and they were extremely accommodating. The young woman at the front desk even let me use her computer to print out my flight tickets when the rude person at the computer station would not get off WELL over his 15 min time limit.

The location is great, except for you're in a high traffic area and there are some homeless people hanging around the area that sleep on the front lawn of some of the establishments (but that's just San Diego in general). The only thing I would change is the continental breakfast needs to have more fresh fruit (other than apples and oranges).

I would definitely stay at this HoJo's again and I think the staff is wonderful and the rooms are clean.

Room Tip: if you have 3 people get a room with a sofabed - it's reasonably comfortable and doesn't cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goddessmiamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent experience with us at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. I am so pleased that you felt our hotel to be "enjoyable" and "for reasonable money". We work hard to give the best service to all of our guests and provide the clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. We are so fortunate to have such a great staff at our property and I thank you for noticing that. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld, we hope to have you stay with us again! Go happy, ho Hojo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I chose this hotel based on price, location and reviews from multiple sites. I was a convenient location to many attractions, including Point Loma, Cabrillo National Monument and Balboa Park. The price was good, and the hotel was decent - the only problem was the incredibly loud housekeepers, who started at 7:00am-7:30am each morning. My room happened to be next door to their area, so it was very loud in the mornings. They have no sense of the fact that people could be sleeping nearby. They have a continental breakfast, which I did not have, due to the numerous Starbucks locations in the area. For a short stay and convenient location, I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 2nd floor at back of hotel - stay away from housekeeper area (room 123)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate what our guest have to say. I do apologize for any noise that may have happened in the early hours by the cleaning staff. I can assure you that this has been brought up to the appropriate department. I am pleased to hear that our location was convenient to your stay and that you were able to take advantage of that. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The HJ Inn was reasonably priced. The room was clean and spacious. However, our thermostat control did not work properly. The front desk attendant came over to our room but was unable to get it to work. The temperature outside was moderate so we managed to be comfortable anyways. This is certainly a "no frills" place but we were only looking for a reasonable hotel for one night before leaving on a cruise. The free breakfast buffet was a nice perk although they could have had a wider selection of items-e.g. bagels. We used the hotel shuttle to get us to our cruise registration. The driver, however, was extremely unfriendly and not very helpful-it took us quite a while to find where we had to go. We also got charged $10 for the shuttle. The location is good-there is a large plaza across the street with a Starbucks and various restaurants/stores. We ate in the Mexican restaurant next door and it was decent. I would stay there again for a quick trip but would find a hotel with a few more amenities for a longer stay. My biggest concern this trip was cleanliness and close to the airport and this place fit the bill perfectly for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
745 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#222 of 279 in San Diego
1,221 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Property: Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing