We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleep quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Ranked #126 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    399
    276
    95
    59
See reviews for
605
242
84
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a typical hotel designed for people that want to be close to the airport. The room is very large and great for a business traveler. The room has free Internet and a very comfortable work are. I would not stay for more than 1-2 nights but if you have quick business in the city I would recommend this hotel. The price is great. The room looks pretty old but it has a fresh coat of paint and is very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveydave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We appreciate such kind words and for stayinh wih our hotel as well. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Go happy, go hojo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBUQUERQUE
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A flat screen TV would be good to update the room. A closed closet would also be helpful. I have never stayed at a 3Star hotel that did not have a closed closet. I did not discover that I had a closet until the next morning because it was a open area closet.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We also appreciate your feedback as well as it invaluable to us. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

So the neighborhood is a little busy and you have to dodge bicycles without lights in the dark and rain, but I was very happy with my little hotel room. There was plenty of parking even on a busy Friday night. The room was spacious with the useful refrigerator and microwave for no upcharge. I paid more for less in Palm Springs for sure.

What stands out most was the front desk staff. Randy at night was amazingly helpful. He eazed out even small problems I had like losing my key or checking late on Friday night. He made sure that I had everything I needed for my entire stay. Honestly, that is more than I can say when I pay $150 a night in many hotels. If you want helpful staff in a new city or when you just are needing a break, you should come here, and they will take good care of you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We are so delighted to hear that you were happy during your stay. We are also very glad that you took notice of all the amenities that we offer at our property. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad that Randy was no exception. Thank you again for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#220 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Property: Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#41 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing