We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Ranked #128 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
VINTON
1 review
“my experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good over all, loud with renovations going on, breakfast was alittle scarce, the shuttle wasn't completely reliable, however, rooms were pretty nice, the staff was amazing and it was overall a great vacation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MARISSA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We are happy to hear that your stay was "good overall." We do appreciate your feedback as well as it is invaluable to us. Guests like you only make our job easier to address the items and fix them immediately. Thank you again for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We hope to see you during your next visit! Go happy, go hojo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    401
    279
    96
    60
See reviews for
609
243
85
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The area in which the hotel is was initially a little worrying. Room was basic but clean. The free continental breakfast was a bonus. This was a good location for our visit to Seaport Village, a memorable few hours on the USS Midway museum and a trip over to Coronado Island. I wouldn't have been comfortable staying for longer than one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAndyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson Near SeaWorld. We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to San Diego. We promise that if you ever come back to San Diego and decide to stay with us again, we will make your stay as comfortable as possible! Go happy, go hojo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST FARGO
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel Staff was great. Continental breakfast was OK at best. Room was clean but carpet was pretty worn out with stains and cigerette burns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We also appreciate your feedback as it is invaluable to us. Guests like you only make our job easier to address the items and fix them immediately. We are very happy to hear that our “hotel staff was great.” We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. We hope to see you during your next visit in San Diego. Go happy, go hojo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were please to have stayed at your hotel. It was close to the base and served a nice breakfast to give us a good start for the day. The shuttle to and from the base was also a plus for those who didn't have a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego! Go happy, go hojo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARZANA
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Room was clean.Hotel is close to everywhere.Price was very reasonable.I wish there were more items for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank lorens y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We are very delighted to hear that we are "a simple and clean hotel." We are also happy to hear that the price was very reasonalble. As you mentioned, our hotel location is just minutes away from San Diego's famous attractions such as our world renowned beaches as well as SeaWorld. We strive to work hard in providing well maintained rooms and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Go happy, go hojo :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have stayed at HJ in other cities in other states but was highly impressed with my stay at the San Diego Air port location. The free shuttle service nit only to and from the airport but also to and from MCRD was so helpful as a single, disabled mother visiting her son for Family and Graduation day. The Desk clerk, Dave, was extremely helpful and polite and entertaining. My room was very clean, updated furnishings and filled with complimentary items. I was very comfortable and felt safe even tho travelling alone. The staff were very helpful and polite in general from desk clerks, shuttle drivers and cleaning staff. True value and satisfaction.Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. I would like to take this time to congratulate you on your graduating Marine. We know it maybe a little stressful for families during the preparation of a graduation so we try our best to help our guests as much as we can to make your trip a little easier. We appreciate such kind words and are so happy that you took advantage of all the amenities that we offer at our hotel. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality and are glad that Dave was no exception. Thank you again for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was the last stop on our honeymoon tour of california. It was roasting in san diego (40 degrees C) and after a long drive from Vegas we need to freshen up. Found the hotel fine, checked in in 5 mins and were in our room in no time. Air con was cold! room was spacious and bathroom was fine. The hotel is within walking distance of Old town (15 mins) and also there is the trolley station there where you can get to the Gaslamp Quarter for $5 a day. Not the best area so wouldnt walk it at night due to the amount of homeless and meth addicts that hang around but felt perfectly safe during the day. The breakfast was disappointing, It was so crowded as the breakfast room is smaller than my living room. There are plenty of places to eat over the road (starbucks, a nice bagel place).

A tip for all travellers to San Diego who are under 35. Take your passport out with you as a valid ID for buying alcohol. San Diego is the only place we encountered in the US who didnt accept our UK driving licences as ID. Which resulted in a taxi ride back to the hotel to get them which was mildly annoying!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego Near SeaWorld. We are happy to hear that the room was "spacious." We apologize for any inconveniences that you may have run to during your stay. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
744 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#223 of 279 in San Diego
1,220 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Property: Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110-4233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing