We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #79 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, but a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

Stayed here for one night for a girls' night out. We stayed in a regulary room with 2 queen bed -- which were so comfortable. If there is one thing that I love Marriott for, it's their beds! I have no complaints about the room. It was clean, we had a beautiful view of the water and could see right into Petco Baseball Stadium(which is right next door). The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Other pluses:
- Bar & Lounge on the roof of the hotel -- very close for a night out on the town.
- Close to bars and resturants located in Gaslamp Quarter

Some downfalls for staying at this hotel:
- No pool on site, but are allowed access to pool at Marriott down the street (about 5-7 minute walk).
- No self parking. Only valet provided by the hotel. There is a parking structure across the street which is expensive and crowded when there is a baseball game.

All in all, it's a nice hotel, but pricey. If you are willing to shell out the money for a nice location in the Gaslamp Quarter and clean and very comfortable rooms, then it's all worth it.

  • Liked — close to shops, restaurants & bars in gaslamp quarter
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank spontane1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    459
    129
    42
    33
See reviews for
202
330
76
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

I was at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter on August 27th and 28th. I asked in my reservation for a king size bed but when I arrived they told me they had just Queen size availables. You pay around 270$ per night but they have no pool, no free Internet and the concierge never is at his table. If you want some advices, you had to call to ask him. The breakfast is overpriced for the quality and variety of the buffet. I don't recommend this hotel to stay in San Diego.

  • Liked — Nothing special
  • Disliked — Services and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want a king size bed, try to grant it in the reservation
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Salva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

Stayed here August 11-14 during a girlfriend getaway, a business contact that lives in S.D. recommended this hotel to me. Beautiful facility, glad we were there on weekend because noisy construction nearby started up first thing Monday am. Great rooms and very comfortable beds. Top notch baths with wonderful toiletries. Note that using online PC in the business center is VERY expensive. Only real downer was that front desk folks were really snooty but the valets more than made up for them. The valets here were invaluable to us every day in helping us get to our destinations and giving us tips on places to go. The breakfast buffet in the onsite restaurant was very good. Walk to Cafe 222 for breakfast, too - if you have time to wait . . it's quite wonderful. The hotel's rooftop skybar has great views. My friend liked their workout facility. We both liked this location a lot; I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk attitudes.
  • Tips/Secrets — Early check-in requests don't seem to work here.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank justhavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2006

The bar on the 22nd floor is a must see - but the rest of the hotel is painfully average.
I had to check-in early, due to the travel issues in August 2006, and called to confirm this with the hotel the night before. I was assured this would be 'no problem' - but of course it was. I arrived at 9:00am and was able to check in "earlier than everyone else...", the clerk said snidely, at 1:00pm.
No Pool, but a shuttle to the Marriott next to the Convention Center.
The restaurant - Soleil on K was okay. Breakfast on Sunday was delicious; lunch and dinner - skip it. Again, no matter the food was expensive and average - great food was just a couple of blocks away in all directions. Concierge acted like he was a bit put-out by us mere commoners; but since the SF Giants and their young families were also staying in the hotel the week for four games, I guess I understand why they were preoccupied.
Sleeping rooms were comfortable, and the bathrooms were spacious. The view of the ballpark was amazing, but if you are not into baseball, you may want to ask to stay on the "other side of Petco Field".

  • Liked — Close proximity to shopping and restaurants
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Go when the Padres are playing out of town!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AntZuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

The Marriott Gaslamp Hotel has much to recommend. It is only steps from Petco Stadium and the interior furnishings are fabulous. The hotel is decorated in a minimalist fashion and I truly appreciated the granite and upgraded materials throughout our room and bathroom. However, there is one glaring problem with this hotel and that involves their definition of a "bay view". We paid $300 for a bay view room and yet we could only see patches of the bay due to the big, fat Omni Hotel that sat directly in front of our hotel. In fact, our main view was of the Omni Hotel and the top level of a parking garage. I feel that it is somewhat dishonest of the Marriott to descirbe their rooms as having a "bay view" when in reality, these views are obstructed. If you truly want a full bay view stay at the Marriott or Hyatt at the Convention Center or (of course!) the Omni!. The hotels at the convention center are within easy walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter and Petco Stadium.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank JHROrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

First time in San Diego, and we booked our stay via Priceline, so we had no idea what to expect. All I can say is wow. Great hotel, great room, great location. You absolutely can't say enough about this hotel or location.

Basically, the previous reviewers covered everything, so let me just say ditto on all the good stuff said!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ravens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel only a week before our stay and got a great room with a great view of the ocean and Petco Park. Valet staff was fantastic and fast. They were very curteous as was all the staff. The front desk, concierge, housekeeping staff, etc. were amazing. They were very professional and helpful at all times. The room was a good size and very clean. Room service was fast and all the requests we had made online prior to our stay were made. We asked for extra towels and extra pillows and they were there waiting for us. I can't stay enough good things about this hotel. It's minutes away from the San Diego Zoo and only 15 minutes away from SeaWorld. it's near a lot of shops downtown and if you're in town for a Padres game, it's a must do! The ice cream store, the Marble Slab is right across the street and it's delicious! Perfect for a midnight snack as it's open very late, especially on the weekends. Trophy's is a great sports bar and grill, also right across the street. The Altitude Bar on the 22nd floor is fantastic as well. We did order dinner and breakfast from their restaurant, Soliel @ K, and I do have to say I was disappointed there. It cost much more than its quality. However, I do have to rave about their apple juice. The best apple juice I've ever had. I'd go back to this hotel in a second!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank VacayLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing