We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #78 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 2, 2006

Stayed here August 11-14 during a girlfriend getaway, a business contact that lives in S.D. recommended this hotel to me. Beautiful facility, glad we were there on weekend because noisy construction nearby started up first thing Monday am. Great rooms and very comfortable beds. Top notch baths with wonderful toiletries. Note that using online PC in the business center is VERY expensive. Only real downer was that front desk folks were really snooty but the valets more than made up for them. The valets here were invaluable to us every day in helping us get to our destinations and giving us tips on places to go. The breakfast buffet in the onsite restaurant was very good. Walk to Cafe 222 for breakfast, too - if you have time to wait . . it's quite wonderful. The hotel's rooftop skybar has great views. My friend liked their workout facility. We both liked this location a lot; I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank justhavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2006

The bar on the 22nd floor is a must see - but the rest of the hotel is painfully average.
I had to check-in early, due to the travel issues in August 2006, and called to confirm this with the hotel the night before. I was assured this would be 'no problem' - but of course it was. I arrived at 9:00am and was able to check in "earlier than everyone else...", the clerk said snidely, at 1:00pm.
No Pool, but a shuttle to the Marriott next to the Convention Center.
The restaurant - Soleil on K was okay. Breakfast on Sunday was delicious; lunch and dinner - skip it. Again, no matter the food was expensive and average - great food was just a couple of blocks away in all directions. Concierge acted like he was a bit put-out by us mere commoners; but since the SF Giants and their young families were also staying in the hotel the week for four games, I guess I understand why they were preoccupied.
Sleeping rooms were comfortable, and the bathrooms were spacious. The view of the ballpark was amazing, but if you are not into baseball, you may want to ask to stay on the "other side of Petco Field".

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank AntZuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

The Marriott Gaslamp Hotel has much to recommend. It is only steps from Petco Stadium and the interior furnishings are fabulous. The hotel is decorated in a minimalist fashion and I truly appreciated the granite and upgraded materials throughout our room and bathroom. However, there is one glaring problem with this hotel and that involves their definition of a "bay view". We paid $300 for a bay view room and yet we could only see patches of the bay due to the big, fat Omni Hotel that sat directly in front of our hotel. In fact, our main view was of the Omni Hotel and the top level of a parking garage. I feel that it is somewhat dishonest of the Marriott to descirbe their rooms as having a "bay view" when in reality, these views are obstructed. If you truly want a full bay view stay at the Marriott or Hyatt at the Convention Center or (of course!) the Omni!. The hotels at the convention center are within easy walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter and Petco Stadium.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank JHROrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

First time in San Diego, and we booked our stay via Priceline, so we had no idea what to expect. All I can say is wow. Great hotel, great room, great location. You absolutely can't say enough about this hotel or location.

Basically, the previous reviewers covered everything, so let me just say ditto on all the good stuff said!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ravens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel only a week before our stay and got a great room with a great view of the ocean and Petco Park. Valet staff was fantastic and fast. They were very curteous as was all the staff. The front desk, concierge, housekeeping staff, etc. were amazing. They were very professional and helpful at all times. The room was a good size and very clean. Room service was fast and all the requests we had made online prior to our stay were made. We asked for extra towels and extra pillows and they were there waiting for us. I can't stay enough good things about this hotel. It's minutes away from the San Diego Zoo and only 15 minutes away from SeaWorld. it's near a lot of shops downtown and if you're in town for a Padres game, it's a must do! The ice cream store, the Marble Slab is right across the street and it's delicious! Perfect for a midnight snack as it's open very late, especially on the weekends. Trophy's is a great sports bar and grill, also right across the street. The Altitude Bar on the 22nd floor is fantastic as well. We did order dinner and breakfast from their restaurant, Soliel @ K, and I do have to say I was disappointed there. It cost much more than its quality. However, I do have to rave about their apple juice. The best apple juice I've ever had. I'd go back to this hotel in a second!

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank VacayLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We were a little surprised when we booked this on Priceline, to find out it had no pool and there was a $24 parking fee. However, we did not regret our stay - we had a great time (Mom and 2 daughers - 9 & 14). So close to Gaslamp Quarters - which my 14-year old daughter loved for the nearby upscale stores as well as the mall selections at Horton Plaza (all within easy walking distance). Being so cose to Petco Park, you have to hate baseball if you do not attend. You can easily buy tickets at the walk-up window, including the "park within the park" - a grassy hill behind center field for only $5, $8 for bleachers (being a Giants fans these bleachers do not compare as you cannot see game well) or $12 for view deck (top). We wanted to go 2 nights, but got back too late for the 2nd one. First night we got free hats, second night they were giving away t-shirts. Traffic around the hotel, even with a game going on, is not bad. We left area along with afternoon ballpark traffic and were only delayed about 10-15 minutes. Liked looking out the window at the park preparation activity, to check scoreboard at night. Could even see peaks of Coronado Hotel across the bay. Enjoyed close proximity to ice-cream store and Subway's (across the street). Liked going for walks in the morning along the marina (near convention center). Short hop over to Coronado - great beach. Easy access to Old Town and Mission Valley for shopping. Fun to be in a central location - with lots of action!! Also, very comfortable rooms, albeit we had 2 full beds (would have preferred 2 queens). Requested a refrigerator and got it at no charge - quite roomy. Will return again!!

Thank babygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Valentine's Day weekend, so I had big plans for my girlfriend and I. We went out that night, and came back to wind down. We were pretty tired from the night, and were just talking, nothing more. Little did we know that a gold member was next door and decided that talking was too loud for them and had us kicked out. There were no other complaints made on us, and they didn't even investigate or give us a warning. So there we were, Valentine's weekend, every place was sold out, and they kicked us out. The night staff was very rude, and wouldn't listen to our side of the story. Because we weren't GOLD members, we didn't have a say. I made a formal complaint to the management who were no help either. The night staff had made up a lie to justify to management why we were kicked out, saying we had 15 people in our room It was myself and my girlfriend, and that was it. There are way too many choices to waste your money and time here.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank dmsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
4,544 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $125 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing