We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #78 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter. We had a beautiful view of the harbor that over looked the Padres stadium. The room was very comfortable & clean. The hotel does not have a pool, however, you can use the pool at another nearby Marriott. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank owings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    452
    129
    42
    31
See reviews for
201
325
75
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2006

Just got back from a 4 night’s stay. I requested an early check in (9am) and a late check out (3pm) staff was very accommodating. Room was spotless, well stocked with plenty of towels, toiletries and had very comfortable beds. There is plenty to see and do within the gaslamp area.

No need to rent a car if you’re willing to wait a little. The mass transit system is within walking distance, easy to use and very affordable.

I had my grandson with me and the only downside is that there is no pool at this hotel.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank squink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2006

I thank everyone else's reviews before mine because I really studied up on which hotels to stay at, even though I am a Marriott employee myself. I never visited San Diego before, so input was most appreciated. My first night was at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott in Dana Point and then the following 2 nights at the San Diego Marriott Marina (both of which I will write about on their sites). After staying at the Marriott Marina, I reluctantly moved over to the Gaslamp because the Marina was sold out my last night there. I wasn't reluctant to go there because of anything negative of the GasLamp Marriott, but we SO LOVED...the Marina Marriott that I was worried.

First the Positives: The lobby was beautiful, simple but clean and elegant. My room was 1900 which was a corner room which had two huge sliding glass door sized windows (but they weren't sliding glass doors), and they opened on the bottom for fresh air. Around the corner of the room was a whole other area with a HUGE workstation for those of you there for business. Also a nice sitting chair in the corner and the desk chair was cushy too. If someone were working there, the other person sleeping around the corner wouldn't be too disturbed. THE ROOM WAS SPOTLESS. Not one fingerprint, dust ball or window streak. The beds had the new bedding which was really nice, flat screen t.v., nice carpeting, beautiful woodwork, even the bathroom door (which was a really cool sliding door with chrome on the bottom), great toiletries, great coffee pot (chrome with FLAVORED CREAMERS!).

Now just a few negatives:

Parking was expensive (like all downtown hotels). I believe the parking garage was around $20 dollars a day (valet only), and that's because there is NO PULL IN FOR INCOMING CARS. Just a plain old sidewalk. They did let me park my rental car there for a few minutes to check in and go quickly to my room, but I needed to come down right away and move it or they needed to valet it.

The walk to the GasLamp was a few blocks, down Fifth street, but it was raining and those few blocks seemed far in the rain (we had sore feet too), so we took a cab to the waterfront area.

Right across the street was CONSTRUCTION that probably would have been really annoying if we had been there a few days and trying to sleep in the morning. A HUGE CRANE was right across the street peering through the window. We had to leave at 4:30 a.m. the next moring for the airport, so that wasn't an issue for us.

I would highly recommend this hotel though. The people working there were ALL VERY NICE and the concierge was great. BUT, I was traveling with my 14 yr. old daughter and we much more enjoyed the Marriott Marina on N. Harbor because the VIEWS VIEWS VIEWS from our bayside 19th floor room. Plus, we walked every evening right along the marina to the Seaport Village shops and restaurants. It was a short, safe and beautiful walk.

The GasLamp had no pool, so the pool at the other property made it a much more desirable property. The GasLamp is a short hike, for you business travelers, to the Convention Center (not a great walk in heels). The Marina Marriott was RIGHT THERE.

So even though the location, parking, non-pool could be an issue, it still is a beautiful hotel. Also, the rooftop bar was closed for renovation, but do to reopen March 31st.

Hope that helps! Cab ride from hotel to airport only $10.80, not including tip.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RKNLOVESCOFFEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2006

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Gaslamp Marriott and we thought the hotel was great. The hotel decor is lovely and the room was very comfortable. Our room overlooked the ballpark and we only wish there had been a game because that would have been super fun to watch! The Altitude bar on the roof top was a great place to begin the evening with a bottle of wine. We did that both nights before venturing down to the gaslamp quarter for dinner. We also checked out Croce's for live jazz and that was terrific, too.

Parking at the Marriott is expensive, so we opted to park in the garage across the street for about half the price the one day we did have a rental car. That leads me to the one problem I had with the Marriott...I noticed on the day of checkout that they had charged me $96 for parking and we had never used their garage. The matter was resolved quickly, though I had to contact a supervisor because the front desk was not authorized to remove a charge that large.

In any case, I would recommend the hotel...just make sure to check you bill at the end of your stay to ensure you weren't overcharged.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mslll75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2006

Brand new bueatiful rooms. Very W like in a great location. Years ago you had to stay in the towers next to the convention center. Now there are great options like this one in the Gaslamp. Pricey but what is not in SD.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MadronaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing