We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

You can never go wrong with Marriott! This hotel offers 2 top notch bars/restaurants in the hotel, a comfortable room, and excellent customer service from valet parking to room service. The location of Marriott Gaslamp Quarter lends itself to walking distance of Gaslamps restaurants, bars, shops, the Convention Center, and Petco Stadium. If you want to do additional site seeing away from the Gaslamp District there are several types of public transportation readily available that are close by.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Bay opt for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Cyndi L,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try our best to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and love to hear that that is what you experienced with our staff. We are happy that you found the location so accessible to all of your needs. Yes, we are very conveniently located to most of the restaurants and activities downtown. We really look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    445
    125
    40
    30
See reviews for
194
321
73
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel was extremely clean and spacious. I had a huge desk to work at, a very big bathroom and room was well lit. I also had a great view of the San Diego ball park. This was definitely one of the nicest Marriott’s I have ever stayed at. The price for the room is more that I personally would pay but it was a business trip and it was in a good location. There are many restaurants, shops and you could even walk to Horton Plaza. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and knowledgeable. Only complaint - I waited almost 5 minutes one morning for an elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilizmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Assistant Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear lilizmom,

Thank you for your review. We love the feedback and we will work hard to make improvements that our guests suggest. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel and staff so accommodating and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards,
Kirill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I traveled with our two young children 7 and 5 years old so we could see the San Diego Padres Play. We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was nice and the front staff were very friendly. They even gave us a room that over looked Padres Stadium. We mentioned that my son was having a birthday and they surprised us with a mini cake and candle when we got into the room after the game. Parking is 40 dollars a night, but we got lucky as we parked on the street right next to the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to the Padres Stadium and eateries. There is a roof top bar which was pretty nice. Lots of young people or young couples. I would stay here again if I were to go to the Padres baseball game. The only thing I wished they had was a swimming pool. That would put the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbob0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear bigbob0708,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us here at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter! We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience and we are happy to hear that is what you received. Yes, our rooftop bar is wonderful, with great views of Coronado bay and Petco Park. And our downtown location is very close to many shops and restaurants in the area. Again, thank you for your terrific review. We definitely look forward to having you come stay with us soon!

Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in March. It's very convenient to the convention center. You are a short walk away from all the great restaraunts and entertainment. There's great places to run in the morning and their work out facilities are also decent. You are actually also can look out and see into the baseball stadium. I found this very convenient for in and out to the airport as well. The pool are was fantastic to just sit at and relax. Nice place, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about facing the convention center. If you do this you can see a little of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cometman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear cometman,

We are happy to hear your stay with us was a great one! Our location is one of the many awesome
qualities of the hotel. We thank you for the feedback and are excited to see you again sometime soon!

Best regards,
Blake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice hotel which lives up to Marriott standards. What separates this hotel from others is the location. It is right next door to the baseball stadium, Petco Park. In fact, they have a rooftop bar area where you can actually look right down into the stadium and see the game! It is also a block from the gaslamp disctrict so you don't need to have a car or drive once you get there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a stadium view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chargersalltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great location. Our room had a fantastic view of Petco Park. The room was comfortable and clean with just the right amount of space. It's gaslamp so you won't be in the room too much. Perfect location for taking in what the gaslamp district has to offer. Also, there is an incredible rooftop bar with almost 360° views of Petco Park, the bridge and downtown. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear jjjv2,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooftop lounge was a hit. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Best regards,
Blake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love staying at this hotel for a work conference but they make it very hard to fit into my budget at times. The Gaslamp in general is way overpriced. This hotel is awesome in design and the concierge level is great to watch a Padres game

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Assistant Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear William M,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Kirill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing