We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby Hotels
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$282
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$207
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$323
$199
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveler rating
684
509
147
52
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
509
147
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barpetco parkthe concierge loungegaslamp quarterconvention centeraltitude bargreat locationball parkpadres gamevalet parkingwithin walking distancegas lampstarbucks coffeecoronado bridgebars and restaurantsvalet staffhotel location
Filter
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a good location for walking and public transportation. We spent our first afternoon walking to Seaport Village and the Midway. Next day we walked to a corner nearby to pick up the Old Town Trolley for the day. After that we bought a 3 day pass and took public transportation all over. Even out to Point Loma via a trolley and 2 busses.

The hotel was nice rather than special. We could see the bay from our window but the window was really dirty on the outside. The concierge lounge was very crowded in the morning with inadequate seating. The staff was attentive and offered to send us down to the restaurant, but then a table was vacated.

The front desk people were friendly and usually helpful (told us we couldn't get to Point Loma on public transportation). I did enjoy the salt water taffy that was always there. No one was at the lobby concierge desk the entire 5 days we were there. The gym was closed for remodeling.
The rooftop bar was inviting and good to watch part of a Padre's game one night.

We loved San Diego and will be back, but will try the other Marriott (convention center) next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a view of the ball park which will also give you a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crjask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of the Gaslamp area. Around the corner from Petco park - some rooms overlook the stadium. Many restaurants and bars nearby. Short walk to Trolley Line, Convention Centre and Marina. Modern hotel with all the facilities. Rooms spacious and very clean, comfy beds. Free wifi in lobby, pay for wifi in rooms - though at the time of my visit they were upgrading the wifi so that may be changing.
Ralph's 24 hr supermarket within walking distance maybe 15 min. About $15-20 cab fare to/from airport depending on traffic.

Beware of rooms with adjoining doors - noise travels quite well through them!

Overall a great place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I typically love my stays at the Marriott, the brand is strong and quality consistent across their properties globally. However my stay at this one was disappointing only because of their gym remodel.

They had guests go instead to another gym several blocks away. And if that wasn't bad enough, you couldn't just show up w your room key. They required guests to get a voucher and be put onto a log book every time gym use was wanted. And worse it was only given out at front desk. So if there was line for people checking in or out, they made you wait in line. This was so annoying and a major time waster, in addition to the 5 minute walk to the other gym and 5min back.

If you expect to work out during your stay in San Diego, you'd be better off staying somewhere else w a functioning gym. At least until their renovation is done.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campfamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Easy walk to many attractions. The harbor, navy stuff and just a quick walk to the Petco Ballpark. The Concierge Lounge was wonderful and had many helpful hints. Clean, well maintained. Easy to hop on and off the trolly tour. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basketjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a great stay here, locaton was good and not to hectic. The staff were very helpful and the room was a bit old but still a delight. We were able to get around from this base point with ease. Lots of navy stuff to see, harbour cruises, night life, hotels, sites, cigar bar and restaurants. The concierge was so helpful with all the restaurants, sights and things to do.

Room Tip: Breakfast across the road at Subway 24/7. Great happy hours at TGIF.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews