We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Liked the location and taffy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #74 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Liked the location and taffy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a good location for walking and public transportation. We spent our first afternoon walking to Seaport Village and the Midway. Next day we walked to a corner nearby to pick up the Old Town Trolley for the day. After that we bought a 3 day pass and took public transportation all over. Even out to Point Loma via a trolley and 2 busses.

The hotel was nice rather than special. We could see the bay from our window but the window was really dirty on the outside. The concierge lounge was very crowded in the morning with inadequate seating. The staff was attentive and offered to send us down to the restaurant, but then a table was vacated.

The front desk people were friendly and usually helpful (told us we couldn't get to Point Loma on public transportation). I did enjoy the salt water taffy that was always there. No one was at the lobby concierge desk the entire 5 days we were there. The gym was closed for remodeling.
The rooftop bar was inviting and good to watch part of a Padre's game one night.

We loved San Diego and will be back, but will try the other Marriott (convention center) next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a view of the ball park which will also give you a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crjask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    423
    113
    36
    28
See reviews for
183
302
71
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of the Gaslamp area. Around the corner from Petco park - some rooms overlook the stadium. Many restaurants and bars nearby. Short walk to Trolley Line, Convention Centre and Marina. Modern hotel with all the facilities. Rooms spacious and very clean, comfy beds. Free wifi in lobby, pay for wifi in rooms - though at the time of my visit they were upgrading the wifi so that may be changing.
Ralph's 24 hr supermarket within walking distance maybe 15 min. About $15-20 cab fare to/from airport depending on traffic.

Beware of rooms with adjoining doors - noise travels quite well through them!

Overall a great place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I typically love my stays at the Marriott, the brand is strong and quality consistent across their properties globally. However my stay at this one was disappointing only because of their gym remodel.

They had guests go instead to another gym several blocks away. And if that wasn't bad enough, you couldn't just show up w your room key. They required guests to get a voucher and be put onto a log book every time gym use was wanted. And worse it was only given out at front desk. So if there was line for people checking in or out, they made you wait in line. This was so annoying and a major time waster, in addition to the 5 minute walk to the other gym and 5min back.

If you expect to work out during your stay in San Diego, you'd be better off staying somewhere else w a functioning gym. At least until their renovation is done.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campfamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Easy walk to many attractions. The harbor, navy stuff and just a quick walk to the Petco Ballpark. The Concierge Lounge was wonderful and had many helpful hints. Clean, well maintained. Easy to hop on and off the trolly tour. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basketjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a great stay here, locaton was good and not to hectic. The staff were very helpful and the room was a bit old but still a delight. We were able to get around from this base point with ease. Lots of navy stuff to see, harbour cruises, night life, hotels, sites, cigar bar and restaurants. The concierge was so helpful with all the restaurants, sights and things to do.

Room Tip: Breakfast across the road at Subway 24/7. Great happy hours at TGIF.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Marriott exceeded my expectations in every way! Concierge Lounge had fabulous food - ALL of the time. The Staff consistently greeted me, asked questions, and always thanked me for my visit. The Housekeeping Staff cleaned my room with complete attention to detail. Turn down service was given to me a few times during the visit (couldn't figure out why one night I didn't get it). The location near Petco Stadium, restaurants, shopping and even the beach (a little bit of a walk) made staying in this hotel very easy. And, the upstairs bar - Altitude - has the most amazing views of the city - especially at night! Driving to Coronado Beach was also just a few blocks away to get to the highway. The only thing that I didn't like was the height of the tv in the bedroom - mistakenly placed inside of a cabinet that was way too low to the ground. It was a buyer's mistake that made watching tv very uncomfortable while lying in bed. Other than that, I felt spoiled and pampered staying at this particular Marriott. It's a great place to stay - especially if you have access to the Concierge Lounge!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiadenverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the popular Gaslamp area. If you are wanting to hit up the bar scenes, then this hotel is great. You can walk to/from your destinations each evening. The hotel is clean, and very neat. Anything you need is provided to you as with any Marriott property. Nice, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatwethought3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing