We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #77 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel in a great location in San Diego. The service was excellent and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant on the first floor is very good. The lounge upstairs has wonderful views and is very upbeat

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stelly3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Stelly 3665,

Thank you very much for your review. We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back! Please socialize with us on Facebook and Twitter so you may get advance information on deals with us.

All my best,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a great location ! Overlooking Petco Park Baseball Stadium, had a birds eye view of the stadium and the Padres were playing The Yankees when I was there and I could watch it from my window ! The staff on the front desk are charning and couldn't be more helpful. All the personnel I encountered were polite, and extremely professional. The bar on the 22nd floor is amazing ! best views of the city by far ! Clearly a very clean, wee run hotel with great staff and fabulous hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room in the front for the great ocean views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Associate at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Stuart L,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and were able to watch the Padres game from your room window. It is also great to read that our staff was very helpful and accommodating. We do our best to make your stay feel like you are right at home. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the last weekend of June 2013 while attending a wedding. The bride chose the hotel as well, and most of the out of town guests stayed here also. Check in was easy and a bit early which was welcomed. The location is excellent and within walking distance of everything you could imagine in that area of San Diego. Valet parking is however 38 dollars a night. The room had two double beds and was a decent size. The furnishings were more upscale, and the bathroom big enough to get ready in for a big event. The sliding pocket door of the bathroom can pop back open occasionally however. We were on a higher floor ( 9 if I remember correctly) and were able to see the Bay and other buildings, but I completely agree with another reviewer who mentioned how terribly dirty the windows are. It looked like a bug graveyard and was so thick we could hardly see out the windows. Yes I understand it's on the outside of the very tall building, but it seems to pay more for a "view" you should at least be able to see something besides bug guts!
All the staff were very friendly, from the maid to the front desk. Both of our nights were comfortable and pleasant. Very long lines of young people form in the lobby at night for the elevators going up to the roof top bar which is some big night lounge scene, but you're still able to access the elevators on the other side going to guest rooms. We never ventured up to the roof top bar since it was super packed with weekend party goers.
I think between the location and the service I would go back to the Marriot gaslamp quarter on my next San Diego visit if I found a good deal on a room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariella35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Associate at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Ariella35,

Thank you for staying at the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter. I am pleased to read that our friendly staff made your stay comfortable and that you enjoyed our location. I sincerely apologize for the condition of the windows. Unfortunately the rainy season lasted longer than we anticipated so the window cleaning had to be temporarily postponed. I hope you will visit again soon as the view will be improved.

Best regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Walking distance to clubs, bars, restaurants, Petco park, and so much more. We have stayed in many downtown hotels. This hotel is our preferred choice when we are partying. The hotel also has a lounge/club upstairs (Altitude) if you find the scene outside the hotel not to your liking. Been there a couple times, it was fun. The staff are nice and the rooms are clean. Valet is $38/night. Park at the structure across the street for much less. We parked from 6 pm - 10 am for $18. Will be back here again.

Room Tip: 1808 gives you a view of the bay, bridge and Petco Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Services Associate at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Bacong F,

Thank you for staying with us at the Gaslamp Marriott. Our staff does their best to make sure our guests are comfortable so that you can enjoy everything the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ok, the main thing about this hotel is the location. We were able to walk the Gaslamp as well as walk to Seaport Village and the area around the Midway. The room was nice and roomy enough. Here's my beef...I paid extra for a room with a 'view". I was able to see a bit of the Bay from the room. However, the windows were filthy. They were so dirty that it distracted from what view I did have. I went down to the main desk and explained that the windows were dirty and it detracted from the view. The lady at the desk proceeded to explain to me that the windows were dirty on the outside. Duh! Nothing was done about the windows during my 3 night stay at the hotel. The most friendly and helpful staff were the valet parking attendants. Overall a good place to stay in San Diego unless you enjoy looking out your window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CantUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Associate at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear CantUC,

Thank you for staying at the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter. I apologize for the condition of the windows. Unfortunately the extended rainy season prevented the window cleaning from occurring during the normally scheduled time. I hope you visit again soon so you can enjoy our central location with the room view our hotel typically offers.

Best regards,

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Arrived early, didn't get my guaranteed room, but instead of turning me away & telling me to come, the FD clerk checked what rooms were available and allowed me to decide. Appreciated it & since I was only there for 2 nights, the guaranteed room wasn't a big deal. I've stayed here before & it does not disappoint. The rooms are luxurious - very elegant and top quality furnishings throughout. The washroom has every amenity you require then some more. Ample water pressure allows you to have a great shower/bath. The bed is extra comfortable with soft linens and allows you to sleep with ease. Internet is very fast, connections were never a problem. No matter what room you are in, you will have some great views of San Diego! The fridge in the room kept our drinks cold and was cleverly hidden away in the television console. An in-room safe is a nice added touch, along with the very plush robes to use. Turndown service with mints just tops it off. I can't say enough good about this place - the ONLY hotel I will stay at in San Diego. It should be used as a training location because everything is perfect. The candy at the front desk is so addictive & plentiful, like the cherry on top of a sundae. Well done, you won't be disappointed staying here - unless it is only for a short time!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Alan N.,

Thank you very much for staying at the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter hotel and thank you for the terrific review! I’m very pleased to read we were able to get you checked into a room that you felt was luxurious and elegant! I’m also very pleased to read that the Gaslamp Marriott is the only hotel you will stay at while in San Diego! We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Aimée Bond
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a very nice Marriott. It is a great location right by Petco field, convention center and the bay. Lots of restaurants and shops. Great path along the bay for walkers or joggers. The convention center is a block away and they have multiple sets of large stairways which give you a great workout. You will see many people doing this workout. The room were very nice and they have a great rooftop lounge with beautiful views

Room Tip: Try to get on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Associate at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear afamily04,

I am pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter. Our central location and beautiful views allow our guests to enjoy everything the downtown San Diego area has to offer and more! We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit San Diego.

Best regards,

Jennyfer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,551 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $125 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing