We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice. Great staff, clean rooms and perfect location. My challenges, though minor were a little frustrating. 1. Thin walls, they are so thin I can hear the restroom being used behind me. 2. They don't explain when using your debit card that they are charging double the cost of the room. This was a shock when I handed them my card and received a text that $600 was just charged to my back account. I no longer had any money for my trip so I had to cut my travels by a day. Luckily gaslamp is pretty to walk around and sightsee with out funds.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    445
    125
    40
    30
See reviews for
194
321
73
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I cant say enough about the perfect location of this beautiful hotel, its on the middle of everywhere u wanna be and go, the view of petco park from the rooms is simply amazing!!! the altitude sky lounge is a must even if u r not staying at this hotel, super comfy and cozy beds, fast valet parking service, (price is also fair)......Great restaurants and bars around it, everything within a walking distance. I hardly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego and specially the gaslamp district!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent32313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Bellarine, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to San Diego was made even better with the hotel I got on Priceline , the wonderful- Marriott Gas-lamp , the location is perfect. The gas lamp area has so much to offer . This hotel is just a fridge away from being a 5 Star hotel. The staff were great , the breakfast great . The view and ambience up at the roof top bar is great . We will return to San Diego ,we both want to explore more , A Fridge could get me back here , even at full price. We loved the room . So comfy .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, its within walking distance to the convention center, ball park, MLK promenade, city transportation, bus tours pick up locations, mall, and a large variety of restaurants (check out the Strip Club...it's a steak house.) The rooms are luxurious, the beds are cozy, and my room view was fun (I had a ballpark view and enjoyed watching and hearing the crowd during two night games.) I enjoyed cocktails at the Altitude Sky Lounge as well as breakfast and desserts at the Concierge Lounge. Aside from the great location the best part of this hotel is the staff, they're hospitality was wonderful!! We were welcomed by the friendly front desk staff who had our room ready at 11am, housekeeping gladly guided us to our room, concierge recommended a day trip, and the concierge lounge staff were my go to people. The morning staff, John and Virginia, welcomed me with a smile and warm greeting each morning for breakfast then provided me with snacks and tips for my daily adventure; when I returned the next day for breakfast they were eager to hear about my adventure from the previous day. The evening staff, Kat, feed my sweet tooth and made me feel as if I was comfortably at home enjoying a night of "Wheel of Fortune".
An appreciative "thank you" to the staff for your hospitality, my brief stay at your hotel was for respite relief, it was wonderful to be pampered by your staff.

Room Tip: Enjoy the sights and sounds overlooking the ballpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Shirley R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay, loved our staff and appreciated the views and cocktails in Altitude. We all take a lot of pride in assuring that all of our guests have the best possible experience in every aspect of our hotel. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Sean Mattix
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A must stop for any trip to San Diego. Location is at the top of the Marriott right next to Petco Park. Great place to grab a cold one B4 a Padre game. Great view of the ballpark and the employee's are always friendly. Drinks are a little pricy but the view makes up for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padrechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
PadreChris,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit to Altitude. It is always nice to read that people appreciate our friendly staff and the amazing view.

Regards,
Sean Mattix
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I got this hotel as it was within walking distance of the convention center. It's a fun area to be in, but also near the Ballpark and fireworks constantly going off if the Padres score when it's in town. The staff was great, very helpful with maps for places I wanted to get to in the area. My room wasn't ready when I got there early and I gave them my phone number to call me when it was ready while I went to the convention center and walked around the Gaslamp. They called within 30 minutes to let me know. They have your room key also as security keys in the elevator for going above the 7th floor, and while it's nice to have, it also takes a few times to work. They also have in the evenings an elevator blocked off for party bar, which leaves 3 left for the rest of the hotel. I would come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raininroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

If the attitude of the staff matched the location and cleanliness, they would have had 5 across the board. After being in the marathon I wanted the option to check in early but I was reminded rudely that the room was actually guaranteed at 4pm. Meanwhile others that just arrived in the city were given a room. Would have appreciated a rush on the room due to circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear KKholiday,

Thank you for staying at the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter after running the Rock’n Roll Marathon. I’m very sorry to read you were not greeted in a friendly manner by our front desk. It is our goal to take the very best care of our guests and I’m very sorry we failed to do so upon your arrival. Thank your providing your feedback and giving me the opportunity to speak with the Front Desk team and improve our services. Please accept my sincerest apology and please let me know if there is anything I may assist you with here in the future.

Best regards,

Aimée Bond
Front Office Manager
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing