We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #75 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel, sitting beside PetCo Park & in the heart of downtown San Diego, hits all the right notes. From the valet staff who are exceptional; at the ready with directions, maps...bottles of water, to the reception, to the restaurant/room service staff, there was not one incompetent, unfriendly one in the bunch. This hotel maintains a level of service that recalls a bygone era. (i will never understand how they knew our last name everywhere we went in this hotel! "Hello Mr. & Mrs....")

I feel that these days, it is a rare exception to not feel "nickel & dimed" to death, in a hotel, but i never once felt that here. They take care of the little stuff here. (ie: FREE bottles of water in your room every day, extra Starbucks coffee in your room, a huge POT of delicious coffee left on your breakfast table instead of a tiny cup that needs to be constantly refilled, and NOTHING is "off limits" on the menu when you have a "complimentary" breakfast bar certificate.)

I can't imagine a room in this hotel that doesn't have an amazing view. How many hotels boast a view of a Major Leaugue baseball field AND ships coming in to port? There was always something to see out our window & we didn't have a "view room" per se.

The bed/sheets/bath linens are top notch. The room appeared to be brand new & the bathroom, luxurious.

****Request a room on 20 or above & a room at the end of the hall, near the exit. These rooms do not share a wall on the other side of your tv so you never have to worry about keeping the volume down late at night. Very quiet corner!! Floors 20 & above have a fantastic, sunny "concierge" room with complimentary coffee & snacks, as well as a stunning view & the room includes the wonderful breakfast bar.

****Room service until midnight & they mean it here!! Leave a message at 11:50 pm & they actually call you back!!

****SKY BAR!!!! (a must)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoMojo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear PhotoMojo1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review about all the aspects of our hotel! We really like to go out of our way to take care of the little things during your stay because we know that's what makes every experience more memorable. I'm so glad we were able to exceed your expectations on comfort and value and that you enjoyed being in the Gaslamp Quarter so much! Aren't the views of the ballpark and the harbor beautiful? You should come back during baseball season to catch a game or plan an afternoon out on the water. We would love to see you again soon and please let us know if there is anything we can do to help make your next stay equally as special!

Jaclyn Kacar | Front Office Supervisor
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    468
    132
    43
    34
See reviews for
207
332
76
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A typical Marriott, bland and typical of corporate America.
Check in superb.
Staff wonderful and very helpful.
Food at breakfast was good although service was poor for a USA hotel and we were not offered water or juice until we asked.
The gym or fitness room was exactly that! A room where you could do fitness but the equipment was old and the room drab.
Go for a run by the bay rather than waste your time potentially injuring yourself on old potentially dangerous gym equipment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Ajortho,

Thank you for your review and candid comments. I apologize that our breakfast service was not up to standard; I will address this with my food and beverage team. Regarding our fitness center. We are currently in the final stages of the design and permit approval for our new fitness center. We hope to begin construction early next year, and I am certain that our guests will find our new center quite pleasing.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so you can experience our enhancements.

All my best,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Third time in San Diego and the best hotel yet. Located next to Petco Park an near absolutely everything downtown. Staff is very courteous and helpful. The altitude bar upstairs is absolutely amazing! Room was large and extremely comfortable. Def recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRFlyer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear PRflyer26,

We know there are a lot of hotels to choose from when staying in San Diego so we are flattered to read that this stay has been your best yet! Thanks for the fabulous review!

Jaclyn Kacar | Front Office Supervisor
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here on Tuesday for business and well it was a suprise....its a great facility!! My room was spotless, the views were amazing from my room and the staff was soo nice. I often stay at the W when I come to San Diego but I will for sure stay here from now on because I love the location int he middle of it all , next door to the PetCo and wow amazing views from the room and the rooftop restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a view of the water and Petco it is amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank going2aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear going2aus,

Wow! It’s so nice to see that we have won you over! Our location really does put you in the middle of all the action here in Downtown. I'm glad to read you were able to enjoy a nice balance of 'work' and 'play' while you were staying with us. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Jaclyn Kacar | Front Office Supervisor
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our first stay with a Marriott hotel after numerous visits to San Diego was delightful. We were in a Concierge room which was really great so we could have breakfast each morning before meetings. Our room had a wonderful view of the water and Point Loma. We were close to the Convention Center and good shopping and restaurants. My only complaint would be the high cost of valet parking, but that is just city prices I guess. All the staff that we spoke to were very pleasant and helpful . Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask fr a high room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear chefjoyce,

Thank you so much for staying with us! There are many different types of hotels within the Marriott brand that I encourage you to check out. The concierge lounge is definitely a great place for breakfast to start your day and desserts to end it and the views really are breathtaking. You're correct in stating that our prices are competitive, and in some cases cheaper, than the surrounding city parking. Are you a AAA member? These rates include complimentary parking! That could definitely be something to look into for your next visit!

Jaclyn Kacar | Front Office Supervisor
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Gaslamp Marriott. Beautiful hotel in downtown/GasLamp district. Short walk to convention centr and Hilton where the conference was. Concierge lounge was very nice and attendants were stellar. Room was spacious and clean. Close (walking distance) to any number of good restaurants. Nice fitness area with great view over the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandymanTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here in Early October for 5 days. After a long flight from Australia i could wait to get to the hotel and it was amazing. The service from the front desk staff to the concierge to the valet service was exceptional they were happy to help with any questions i had and recommended places to go. Overall the hotel is in a good location Its a short walk to petco stadium, gaslamp district and the harbor along with a large selection of restaurants and bars nearby. The only thing i could fault about my stay would be the roof top bar even though you have an amazing view of the city and harbor on the weekends there is a massive line coming out of the lobby were you have to put up with drunk people stumbling around the place all night long.

Room Tip: i found the higher floors keeped away the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Scoobs08,

Thank you for thinking so highly of us to take the time to share your experience. Everyone here definitely takes pride in what we do and we make every effort to ensure that our guests receive the best treatment possible while they are with us. As you mentioned, Altitude is an awesome place to spend an evening while enjoying the scenery and atmosphere! Being in the heart of San Diego's dining and entertainment district, we do come across a few people who take full advantage of what the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Jaclyn Kacar | Front Office Supervisor
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,046 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Property: San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 660 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-7036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing