We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy, Authentic Mexican Food in Old Town”
Review of Casa Guadalajara

Casa Guadalajara
Ranked #57 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy, Authentic Mexican Food in Old Town”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Another visit to Casa Guadalajara. Last trip to SD< we did not get to stop by, and certainly missed it. Today it was a late lunch, and we chose to order from the lunch menu. The value was outstanding, as was the food. I had the chicken enchilada, and black beans. Hubby had the chile reyano. We each sampled the others, and both were very good. Of course, the very best thing are the chips and salsa. This place is pretty busy, so plan to be there at an "off hour".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    398
    144
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Old Town Mexican food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent, expect to pay $12-$18 meals, not bad for the quality. It is a block away from the main Old Town hub. Try their pina colada, it is awesome.

Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Mexican, Colorful Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've dined at this restaurant numerous times and rate it a solid Average. The food is good, the portions are large and the variety is extensive. Margas were somewhat weak on alcohol content. Service is fine although at peak times it can be a little lengthy.

The indoor area is festive and can be part of a memorable visit to San Diego. The Mariachi band adds to the color but when they're playing, it's virtually impossible to hold a conversation. Outdoors is quieter but if you're unfamiliar with the climate, it cools off a bit after sundown and the space heater coverage isn't extensive, so pick your table carefully.

Parking is an issue if you arrive at peak dinner times/weekends. Short walk from the Old Town trolley station. Overall I'd rate in the same band with some of the other Mex restaurants in Old Town - most are fine, some people prefer one more than others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best food and dining experience in San Diego”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate at several locations in San Diego while vacationing but none compared to Casa Guadalajara for ambiance, quality of food, friendliness of staff and overall experience. In fact we loved it so much we ate there twice. The food is Mexican, the wait for a table at supper time can be up to an hour and the bar is a great place to have a drink and appetizers while you wait. This restaurant has a great feel to it regardless if you are seated inside or out. The decor is very bright and the seating is not cramped. They also have a house band that moves around the restaurant and provides a great sound that enhances the whole experience. Lastly but definitely the food is the best Mexican food I have had outside of Mexico, the quantity of food is more than enough and the price is very reasonable. By the way Casa Guadalajara is located in the Old Town area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cammer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Mexican Food in Old Town”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place was what the doctor ordered. My friends and I wanted decent Mexican food in Old Town San Diego. Our hotel recommended this place. It was exactly what we wanted. Food was totally yummy. Loved the atmosphere and ambiance. Good value for the money. Loved the singer who serenaded us while dining. Add this place to places to dine at while you're in San Diego.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivslyrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Guadalajara also viewed

 

Been to Casa Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing