We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Restaurant”

McCormick & Schmick's
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #300 of 4,717 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 6th Street
Transit: San Diego Trolley Stop - Gaslamp
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
279 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Disappointing Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had dinner here while staying at the Omni. There were hardly any occupied tables in the whole restaurant. The menu consisted mostly of fish and a few steaks. Everything was a la carte. The food was good, although bland tasting. The service was terrible. Our server was very hard to find, thus we had to ask for everything. Usually we enjoy a McCormick and Schmidt restaurant but not this time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    123
    53
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday evening for a birthday. I must say it was a tad pricey but for the location as well as being a McCormick & schmicks it was more than worth it. Right near downtown & the bay. The food and service was just perfect. Fernando was so awesome! We went back the next day for lunch it was so great. I can't say enough good things about Fernando, he made us feel so welcomed. He made this not just a dining experience but a wonderful birthday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakergoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and superior customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Whileviut of town, We were celebrating a special occasion at McCormick and Schmicks in san Diego which was conveniently located in the beautiful Omni hotel in the heart of te gas lamp district. Our experience was absolutely fantastic. from the server to the manager who personally stopped by to provide complimentary champagne to help us celebrate, the experience was just awesome. Our food choices were amazing !! The steelhead trout was the best! The stuffed shrimp and Halibut were also winners. start with the calimari, you will not be dissappointed!.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alwayzaladyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overpriced Blah”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I ate there during lunch on a Sunday when taking a break from a seminar there at the Omni hotel. Service was okay, the beef stroganoff was under-par. The meat was tough and stringy and hard to chew...I expected more from the brand

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank susyernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You need to have at least one meal or more at this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant is located on the same property with the Omni Hotel. A very nice setting with modern furnishing overlooking a patio and street scenes. I was always greeted with smiles and a welcome greeting. Fernando one of the Managers is personable and this is reflected by all staff in the restaurant. Rachel waited on my table and was exceptional. Staff like Rachel help make and promote a business, and customers return . The food was excellent, presented well and prepared to expectations. I had two breakfast meals and a lunch. Each time walking away very satisfied with the meal and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing