We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to a few of their locations, very consistent”

McCormick & Schmick's
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #327 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 6th Street
Transit: San Diego Trolley Stop - Gaslamp
Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Been to a few of their locations, very consistent”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been to their St. Louis, San Diego and Anaheim locations - all very nice and consistent with service and taste. It's def a must try!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockstarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    128
    53
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Seafood Treat! Spoil yourself!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This restaurant is located in the Omni Hotel in downtown San Diego. The menu and quality of food at this restaurant is outstanding. The service was friendly and servers were very knowledgeable of the menu.
I had a fantastic starter of calamari fried with artichoke hearts, carrot slices and jalapeno. As the entrée, I had the most amazing pan seared sea scallops on a bed of creamy risotto. The scallops were enormous, but cooked perfectly as was the risotto (Gordon Ramsey would be proud)! If you are looking for a nice place to take that special someone, or for a corporate dinner with a bit of style, consider this McCormick & Schmick's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_McCanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We ate here while Visiting San Diego celebrating 3 March birthdays. After studying the menu, we all agreed that we would build our meal from the starters menu, including things like mussels, oysters, shrimp, etc. We did not order entrees and we were quite satisfied with our choice. The restaurant is a little pricey, but not too bad . The service was excellent. No complaints other than the long walk, including stairs, to get to the restrooms.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“...ruined by a lazy waiter”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have eaten in many McCormick & Schmick's restaurants, the best i have found being in Seattle. Whilst staying at the Omni during my birthday weekend with my wife, i chose the restaurant as i love to eat great cooked fish.

Shown to a booth we were pleased with its intimacy and when requested drinks thought martini's where in order. When asking the waiter what martini's were available, he simply answered all of them... now i seriously doubt whether all the ingredients are really available for all the worlds martini choice, but would have thought that the bar would have held some favorites or house specialties...on delivering what we ordered he left the drinks towards the other spare seats on the table, annoyingly to us it seems he was too lazy to deliver our drinks in front of us...

Then on ordering food i saw from the fresh list that Oregon Dover Sole was available... asking for the Dover Sole he immediately said this was the Dover Sole Parmesan... what a ruination of possibly the finest of all fish! Not even offering the option of simply grilled with this. Surprisingly we ordered, and ate, only feeling satisfied that we left no tip for our boring and arrogant waiter who we expected expected everyone to leave him a 15% gratuity however little he worked or was affable to his diners.

Now others i hope have better reviews for normally a great chain of places bringing good food to people... but this time McCormick & Schick's McDonald's would have served better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent evening out to eat!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a great location, great variety on their menu, and delicious food. The service was superb. . We had a group of 14 and everything served was beautifully presented and delicious ! Our waiter was very professional and helpful. The wine selection was great. I had a house salad with the most delicious walnuts on it. i had the seafood trio Which consisted of salmon, stuffed shrimp and grilled shrimp. For dessert i had blueberry cheesecake. All was wonderful. I also enjoyed a delicious glass of wine and crab cakes for an appetiser.. I.will look forward to visiting there again on our next trip to San Diego!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing