We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why didn't we go sooner”

WineSellar & Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
WineSellar & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #560 of 5,561 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Steadman St.
Description: Family owned and operated since 1988, The WineSellar and Brasserie is San Diego's premiere destination for all things fine wine. The fine dining Brasserie Restaurant is open for lunch Tuesday - Friday, 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and for dinner Tuesday - Saturday, 5:30 - 9:00. Our Casual Side Bar is open Tuesday-Friday 4pm-9pm. Happy Hour is Tuesday-Thursday 4-7 and All Night Friday. Our WineSellar retail shop is open Monday-Saturday 9am-9pm.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We live close to this restaurant and for years have been meaning to try it. Finally made at there. The location and outside are deceiving, but once you enter the dining area, it's intimate and charming. We ate at the restaurant upstairs. There is casual dining at the bar downstairs, we didn't try that. White table clothes, nice lighting and very good service. Our group tried many things off the menu and everyone was very happy with their choices. The Beet Salad, Salmon Gravlax, Gazpacho Soup and Foie Gras were all ordered as appetizers. Personally I had the Salmon Gravlax and it was thinly sliced with a wonderful honey mustard sauce. For entrees the Diver Scallops were a hit, the Lamb Shank and Sea Bass were all tried.The seafood dishes were buttery and tender with a risotto served with the Scallops and a vegetable medley with the sea bass. Subtle flavorings that are layered really made the dishes stand out.
Our server advised us that the summer menu would be changing after Labor Day. Looking forward to see what is offered next.
This is a good choice for a special meal.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sd1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2017

Went to the WineSellar & Brasserie for their Wednesday Wine tasting.
Two whites and two reds. First time they served a wine from Valle de Guadalupe,
Mexico very nice.
Went upstairs for dinner, I had the red and green gazpacho. Prime steak.
Enjoyed my dinner very much. My husband also had the soup and then the
Salmon. Our friend who we were celebrating her birthday had the beet salad and mussels. They also enjoyed their dinner.
The restaurant is one of the few that you can go to and enjoy your dinner quietly.
The also have linens on the table, that my husband really appreciates.
We have been going here for years.
They also have a private dinning room.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Berniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineSellarBrasserie, Owner at WineSellar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

We're delighted to hear that you, and your party, enjoyed your experience with us in both The Casual Side bar and then in The Brasserie! We greatly appreciate your feedback. See you soon! Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

A surprising little gem hidden in the back of a non-descript building off of Mira Mesa. Not only a restaurant, but they also sell wine and wine accessories. You can choose a bottle in their store and only pay corking fee to drink it in the bar or restaurant. Super friendly and knowledgeable staff. Kirk the bar tender was awesome. They serve small bites at the bar and a full menu upstairs. Really good food. If your a business person on travel this is a great alternative to the chain restaurants in the area. An excellent choice when dining with colleagues or clients. Quiet with great ambience...once you get inside.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Melvmfa212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineSellarBrasserie, Owner at WineSellar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

We are so glad you liked your experience with us! Thank you for the nice review and we look forward to seeing you again ... and to continue to give you a great experience!
Lori Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Attended a business dinner at WineSellar on the second floor of the establishment. Thursday evening. Small crowd. White tablecloth dining in a relatively intimate setting. Second visit in a year and left disappointed this time. Had the halibut, which was overdone and served on a flavorful sauce and vegetables. Very pricey for the quality of the food. Did not make wine selection, so cannot comment on value. Service was average. Too many other choices that provide finer cuisine at more reasonable prices.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dr-Zach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineSellarBrasserie, Owner at WineSellar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dr Zach,

I'm so sorry that we didn't meet, mush less, surpass your expectations on your last visit. The service usually gets extremely high marks so I am surprised that you didn't received the service I would expect from our staff. On the fish ... the chef was talked into trying a new supplier who did not work out. Please know that we've changed fish suppliers and are very happy with them. I hope you give us another try as we have just put out our summer menu ... and though I am a bit prejudges ... I believe you would enjoy it thoroughly. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Warmly, Lori Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

I love this little place. Fantastic selection of wines, great French food that is very well prepared. It's not usually super busy (good for me) and the servers are very attentive and committed to making sure you are well taken care of.

Don't be fooled by the industrial surroundings, it's very nice inside and actually surprising.

Check it out.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank floydm863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WineSellar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing