We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service in the Old Town”
Review of Miguel's Cocina

Miguel's Cocina
Ranked #83 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, good service in the Old Town”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This restaurant is pretty much the last one walking out from the park area and as everything else was full or queueing and we didn't find the menu at Fred's too exciting, my colleague chose Miguel's. This worked out to be a good choice, with seating inside or on an enclosed terrace. Service was good, attentive enough and the food was tasty and well cooked for an area with high tourist turnover. Nothing trule exceptional or mind-blowing but of a quality to match the reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ideasfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    173
    58
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not great but good”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Miguel's Cocina was recommended so my partner and I decided to give it a try after exploring Old Town. The service was excellent and friendly and while busy, the noise level wasn't overwhelming.
I had the slow roasted pork, carne adobada I think it's called, served with an avocado salsa and my partner ordered the chimichanga. We weren't blown away by either but both meals were good and certainly filling, especially on top of the great corn chips and salsa that arrive as soon as your are seated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
247 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

In an area with many Mexican restaurants with many great menus and values, Miguel's gave me bad food, poor drinks, and an overall dissatisfying evening. Too bad it was my last night in San Diego and I should have known better. The service was good, the wait staff works hard, but they can't overcome the general poor quality of menu, food and drinks. Find another place to spend your money and time when in Old Town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great skinny margaritas & jalapeno cream sauce”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Miguel's has great margaritas and tasty food. I especially like the skinny margaritas, no synthetic sweet n sour mix and the jalapeno cream sauce is awesome.
Seating outside is nice and gives you a view of all the people walking the main street in Old Town. If you sit outside and it's a little cool, ask to be seated next to a heater.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank octaviaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Give, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mexican food”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a great time with our conference-buddies enjoying Mexican food. Service was nice a there were a lot of people. For my European taste dishes were quite spicy, but the guy from India thought it to be not very spicy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittaDKGive_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing