We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food”
Review of Miguel's Cocina

Miguel's Cocina
Ranked #103 of 4,802 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Give, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mexican food”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a great time with our conference-buddies enjoying Mexican food. Service was nice a there were a lot of people. For my European taste dishes were quite spicy, but the guy from India thought it to be not very spicy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittaDKGive_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    181
    61
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great place to eat in "Old Town" San Diego.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Miguel's was recommended to us as the restaurant of choice in "Old Town." We were told it had consistently good food that was good value for the money. We concur. My wife had the fish tacos and I had the quesadilla supreme with pork. Both dishes were excellent. We were pleased with the service and the restaurant had a great atmosphere. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenspratley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven for lovers of Mexican food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I live one block away from luscious temptation. I rarely try to resist the temptation. The complimentary tortilla chips and delicious sauce makes me happy, and that's just for starters. Locals sometimes do carry-out because the restaurant is usually filled with tourists, who are always welcome in Coronado. The menu is extensive, the prices are good, the food is delicious, and the service is friendly and professional. Oh, and the margaritas are especially good. If you haven't tried margaritas, this is a good place to start.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great mexican food without the long lines”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is the best Mexican food in Old Town without the long lines
other places are know by tv shows but the best food in old town is at Miguel's
I have been here several times and all were top rate
good selections and all will please
friendly staff make this a nice Spencerian
one tip at busier times grab a seat .along the bar or better yet the seat looking into the kitchen

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapello, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous enchiladas, great waitstaff!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at Miguel's Cocina. We actually were just looking for a place to eat that night and they could seat us right away so we just went with it...and so happy that we did! Very nice restaurant, great atmosphere, fabulous chicken enchiladas, excellent chips and salsa and wonderful iced tea! Our server was amazing and very attentive. We would definitely visit again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schelly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing