We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice happy hour”

Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Gaslamp
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice happy hour”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good variety of appetizers for their happy hour we split a soft cheese dish and salad. Both were very tasty. We were recommended this place by the hotel concierge for a light dinner. It was perfect and very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank allison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Undercooked Pizza, barely warm”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place spoiled our view of San Diego eating establishments. The place was not busy so no excuse for a barely warm under-cooked Pizza. The service was lackluster as well. In every other eatery we were constantly asked "How is the meal", to the point of it bordering on annoying, but at this place the waitress didn't even ask once or I would have told her it was unsatisfactory. We expected better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna T, Public Relations Manager at Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Gaslamp, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the poor service you experienced, which I assure you is not the norm for our restaurants. It sounds like the food you received was also sub-par, which is unacceptable. We pride ourselves on top-notch service and food, which you'll see reflected in several of our guest reviews.

We would love to invite you in to give us another chance next time you're in the area. Please feel free to contact us at insider@sammyspizza.com to take me up on this offer.

Sincerely,
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza. Good place to people watch.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the pear and gorgonzola pizza with raddicchio salad on top. It was excellent. We sat outside and watched the unending parade of people passing through the Gaslamp. Service was friendly and generous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great service!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ordered four pizzas and it was more than enough for the five of us. Thin crust, crispy. Got a variety to try. The one with the all meat and mushrooms was great. Also l liked the bbq chicken and the thai. Our waiter was great and very attentive. The manager was grumpy and not friendly and he is the first person you come in contact with. Save some money use entertainment coupons. Saved us $18.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice pizza restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our pizza's were good, though not the best I have had for wood-fired. I thought the crust should have been more crispy. Greek salad and hummus plate were excellent. Service was attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Gaslamp also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing