We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza is good, salad was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Gaslamp - CLOSED

Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Gaslamp
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pizza is good, salad was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had the artisan crust with 1/2 pepperoni and 1/2 Italian sausage. Just the right size to share between the two of us. Pizza crust could have been a little crispier. We also ordered the chopped salad without chicken but with the oven roasted tomatoes and the olives. Nothing fancy but the dressing was excellent, red wine vinegrette. Really very good. Again nothing too fancy.

The service was excellent and ambience was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank asalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good pizza, high price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the Gaslamp District and walked to this restaurant. The area that it is in is a little sketchy especially walking with our kids. The restaurant was clean and upscale. We all had different pizzas and really liked them. It was a litlte higher price for a family of 5 it was about $70 which is common for most restaurants in the Gaslamp area. Service was great, friendly and fast. We arrived around 5:30 on a Monday night and it was not crowded. However when we left an hour later it was starting to get busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“my favorite pizza place in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I used to come here every week in San Diego. They have great artisan crust pizzas, and a nice selection of appetizers and salads. Kobe beef burger is delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scrumpsious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is on 4th in the Gaslamp Quarter/downtown San Diego. It was walking distance from our hotel and Horton Plaza. The pizza we got was shrimp garlic and was fabulous. Our server, Lindsey, was terrific and very outgoing despite the fact she seemed to be doing 3 people's jobs. Maybe she deserves a promotion!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good food and quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first whole day of our 4 week trip and the first restaurant we tried in San Diego. We were both starving and didn't want to walk too far from our hotel before we got some food so we basically just walked a block to this place. I had the tequila chicken pasta and my boyfriend went for a pepperoni pizza. Both were good, decently priced and we didn't have to wait too long. The outside seating area is tiny but we were given a bigger table for just the two of us so it didn't really bother us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Gaslamp also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing