We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can a port city have such average seafood?”

Sally's Fish House & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sally's Fish House & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Just a stone crab's throw from San Diego's celebrated Gaslamp Quarter and Seaport Village is the charming and sophisticated Sally's Fish House & Bar. Sustainable seafood and spectacular panoramic views of San Diego Bay distinguish this Southern California dining landmarks and one of the best waterfront seafood restaurants in San Diego. Fresh fish and bold flavors shine through in our signature seafood dishes including Crab Cakes, Diver Scallops and Chili Marinated Alaskan Halibut. Master Sushi Chefs prepare plates of delicately sliced sashimi and creative sushi rolls like the popular Rainbow Roll.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“How can a port city have such average seafood?”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am from Boston and was puzzled how another port city could have such average seafood? My tip off should have been every other item on the menu started with "Maine".

The staff was very good and some of the dishes tasty but far less than I had hope for. A friend of mine who is a local told me it is a common theme in San Diego.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    231
    86
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were skeptical of a "hotel restaurant" but made reservations at Sally's as we arrived in San Diego with no other plans. We were very pleased with the menu option at Sally's. The food was great and the service was outstanding. The ambiance was pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Weeniedog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
197 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“calm and good food , good service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A solid experience. Staff was attentive and made good suggestions. Nice open room, with many delicious food options. A good spot for those staying in the harbor area. Did not feel rushed and had a good meal. Sometimes the fear of a " tourist" spot might make the eatery a bit inferior. This is not the case at Sally's. A good choice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simply a mess”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were lured in by the menu display, which featured whole-wheat pasta. Once seated, we were informed that the display was out of date, and our choices were more limited. We decided to splurge for an $80 shellfish assortment. What a mistake! The lobster was mushy and was becoming gelatinous in places. Oysters had no character. In fact, the only items that seemed really fresh were the shrimp, and even they were the Asian Tiger variety. There could not be a real chef in this establishment, as no self-respecting chef would allow such a sad mess to be sent to a table.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Souls have been much better for the price”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Although the Kobe beef was very good, the rest of the meal was nothing special. For the cost, it should have wowed me. I get much better food I in my small hometown for less. The staff were friendly and the location was wonderful. Love the San Diego Bay and unfortunately that is what you pay for - the view. We also ate sushi earlier in the day. It also was very good, but twice the amount I normally pay elsewhere for the same quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lanie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sally's Fish House & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sally's Fish House & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing