We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lou & Mickey's

Lou & Mickey's
Reserve with OpenTable
Lou & Mickey's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 4,726 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: L Street
Transit: Gaslamp Stop (Trolley)
Description: Gaslamp's "Favorite Steakhouse" is directly across the street from the San Diego Convention Center and two blocks from Petco Park. Join us for famous steaks, choice seafood, and exotic drinks.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had been in the US on a business trip for 10 days and had not managed to have a steak. Lou & mickeys was right across the road from my hotel so I decided to give them a try.
What a pleasant surprise! I was by myself so chose to sit in the bar area. Although my wine was forgotten and not very cold, the very pleasant staff made up for that lapse by giving me free side dishes.
I tried the oyster sampler plate which was very good with 6 different oysters.
Then I ordered the 8 oz fillet and it was cooked to perfection and had a lovely taste.
Very good experience overall.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    285
    111
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Level Contributor
362 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Although steaks are their specialty, I chose the fish and chips which were absolutely perfect, large pieces with just a little crispy batter cooked to perfection and not greesey at all. Co workers had the steasks and various sandwiches for lunch and all were copletely satisified. We are so happy that we are planning to go back for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank RDCononver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Solid but ordinary...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

During a break from the convention center we ventured over to Lou and Mickey's. It is a very attractive "saloon" type restaurant. The wood is thick and old, the trappings remind you of PJ Clark's or Gallagher's in NY.

Two of us were there for a quick lunch. We were greeted and seated quickly. We ordered the seafood stand for two - not a cheap lunch, but we were both in the mood for fresh seafood. The platter arrived (we've all seen this presentation before) and it was fine. There was the standard selection of oysters, clams, shrimp, crayfish, scallops, and crab. The "sauces" were ok, but nothing to jump up and down about. There was too little cocktail sauce, the sauce Louis was average.

I was a little surprised to not at least be offered crackers or bread. In fairness, the moment I mentioned this to the server he was very quick to respond. The restaurant was packed and he did his best to look after us.

There is no doubt why this classic venue remains popular. The location to the convention center is ideal, the physical look of the space is very pleasing and nostalgic and the outdoor space very appealing. I will try Lou and Mickey's again when it is less busy. Next time I will experiment with the menu a bit. It is certainly worthy of a visit, just pick the right time.

Best Wishes, Colin A. Burns

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cburnssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This restaurant has a great location at the entrance to the Gas Lamp District. The service was great. The steaks were cooked perfectly as each person had ordered and were tender and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammi112345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful restaurant with big booths, dark wood and great service. Quality steaks and seafood in the heart of Gaslamp District.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TL-StacyNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou & Mickey's also viewed

 

Been to Lou & Mickey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing