We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nailed it”

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #181 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 4th Avenue
Transit: Trolly & Train
Description: Fleming's San Diego, CA is an ongoing celebration of exceptional steak and wine. We are located in Downtown SD in the Gaslamp District off Harbor Drive, next to Seaport Village and San Diego Bay.
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“nailed it”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife is a big fan of fleming's! Although we usually go to the one in Tucson because, I always think of this restaurant of being to loud. There is always a full seating and for some reason I think the tables are arranged to close together. However, this time I don't know why, but for some reason I didn't feel it like that. Maybe it was the room distribution that allowed better dining...
Everything else was excellent: food, service, etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    87
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

In San Diegos Gas Lamp Quarter, this delightful gem is opposite the convention centre and the hilton hotel.

We arrived without reservation and had only to wait fifteen minutes for a table.

Food wise, whilst certainly not (remotely) cheap, the 16oz steak I had was beautifully cooked to perfection and was a perfect example of quality meat. I've never had a medium rare quite so perfect. Delightfully rubbed with a pepper and salt rub, however after the 10th oz the salt got the better of me, but that's my personal dislike of salt and eyes bigger than my belly. Fantastic to share sides.

Drinks, both of our cocktails were superb, Always annoying to have missed out on happy hour and end up paying twice the amount for a cocktail that was half price an hour before though... Wine by the glass was delightful. Californian red. Amazing selection and love the ability to sample so many by the glass.

Service was attentive and well paced.

A very happy, but slightly poorer, customer :)

Helpful?
Thank chrisjr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,953 reviews
821 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was in town for business and ate here with two coworkers. There was a bit of a wait even though we had reservations. The service was pretty good as was the food. It is not a cheap place to eat. But overall it was enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Small Plate Bar Menu”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Outstanding bar menu for small plates from 5-7 P.M. daily. All at $6......also good process on wine, beer and spirits during this 2 hour stint in the bar.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimOCotodeCaza_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A really good steak”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Tried Fleming's for the first time after buying discount certificate at Costco. The prices were reasonable for an excellent steak... cooked just right. Am on their mailing list, and go back for their specials.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Mission_Valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing