We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as hoped”
Review of Hunter Steakhouse

Hunter Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Hunter Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Cross street: Taylor Street
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not as good as hoped”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

5 went for dinner including three kids. Portions were not large by US standards and steak was just okay. When I visit the US I expect great steaks and this just didn't live up to it. To be fair, there was nothing wrong with the meal but it didn't ring any bells as being special or really good. so not great value for the price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Airshowsafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    90
    34
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can't rave highly enough!!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

For a place that's just off the freeway and doesnt look all that special on the inside or outside, the food and service this place pumps out is simply to die for. Established in the 1970's and not decorated since I feel, the décor and atmosphere could definitely do with a overhaul and few dollars pumping into it, but the service was the best we had in San Diego and the food simply breathtaking. Meat eaters in San Diego, get your hunt on and find Hunters!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Livingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Melt-in-your-mouth filets”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We thought the Hunter had the best steaks we had eaten in sometime. Three of us had the "smaller" cut of filet and found we couldn't finish them. My father had a sirloin and thought his steak was very tender, until he tried the filet. It was so tender and delicious. Loved the au gratin potatoes. The baked potatoes and side vegetables were also delicious. Loved the tableside salad bar. This is definitely our return to steakhouse when we return to San Diego.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Steak Meal!!! Don't look anywhere else!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were in San Diego for 5 nights with our 3 teenage kids and wanted a steak meal. We booked Hunters and ordered 3 Filet Mignon and 1 Porterhouse to share!! The food was amazing, the steaks were perfect and the appetizers (the Hunter Trio and the Potato Skins were to die for!!!). We enjoyed our meal so much, the kids asked to go again so on our last night, we booked Hunters again and did it all again!!! The great thing about Hunters is that the food is wonderful and the price is very reasonable compared to all the ritzy places where steaks cost more than $40!! The service was also very very good, the waitresses on both evenings were very hospitable and knew the answers to our questions. We highly recommend for a steak meal in San Diego!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for steak”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in San Diego for two nights, and the restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel's staff on the first night. It has a quite and nice atmosphere. We ordered a split course - for the price of 7$ the main course is split, and we each got our own salad and side. The garlic mashed potatos were amazing and so was the steak- tender and juicy.
We loved it so much thta we returned there the follwoing night for another lovely dinner.
We recommend the mud pie for dessert :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorinaUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hunter Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing