We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ignored for 10 minutes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rei Do Gado Brazilian Steak House

Rei Do Gado Brazilian Steak House
Ranked #91 of 4,541 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: A trolley station is located on B street. A bus stop is right across from Rei Do Gado.
Description: "Best Ethnic" 2014 CRA Golden Medallion Award "Best International Cuisine" 2015 CRA Golden Medallion Award The churrasco (Brazilian barbecue) is a traditional feast that has been celebrated in Brazil for centuries. It is a unique and healthy way of roasting meat over a mesquite flame that preserves tenderness and gives it a taste unmatched by any other. Guests of Rei do Gado will encounter an unlimited buffet of typical dishes and salads.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignored for 10 minutes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My partner and I have been wanting to come here for dinner. With his sister in town we decided to try it out. Made a reservation for 530 on Sunday June 9th. Arrived at 5:20 greeted at the front door by a very polite hostess and was sat immediately. There we sat, ignored not even looked at as other wait staff walked by our table numerous times. The place was not busy at all. Plenty of empty tables. Plenty of wait staff walking around setting tables, standing at the bar chatting with each other.

Once we reached the 10 minute mark of still no hello, or ill be right with you, or here is some water ill be back to take your drink order....nothing. We decided to leave and take our money elsewhere. Upon walking by the front desk, I was asked by the hostess that sat us was everything ok, to which I replied no, we've not been helped and I asked her if I could speak to the manager. Another person said she would go get him. Then I waited again. While waiting for the manager one of the waiters asked what was wrong in which I replied after being ignored for 10 minutes we were leaving. He apologized and said please sit down and ill help you right away, to which I replied you yourself have walked by our table at least 3 times not one even looking our way....no thank you. Finally after about 5 min the manager appeared and asked what was wrong. Again repeating we have been ignored. He apologized and said oh no. Come sit now and ill comp our meal. I told him I wasn't interested in a free meal and was no longer interested in eating there, but I would be sure to mention my experience online. Won't go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    132
    41
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YUMA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Carnivore Happiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After arriving too late for our reservation at another restaurant, we settled on Rei Do Gado for a meal before a play at the SD Civic Center. For my meat lover husband, any Brazilian steak house is good and so he was happy. I was impressed with the boneless chicken thighs in chimichuri--remarkably tender and not overdone. Filet mignon was nice, beef ribs too. One lamb skewer was a bit more well done than we would have liked but the next one was nice and rare.
What made Gado stand out though is the extensive 'salad bar.' Seafood, fruit, vegetables, Brazilian staples...I really enjoyed the variety and freshness.
Pricy on the weekend but I see that a weekday lunch is less than half the cost so that might be the perfect time to try it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brazilian Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our first experience at a Brazilian steak house. The service was excellent. They answered all of our questions about the different meats being served and were always ready for drinks and anything else we needed. The salad bar was a meal in itself so don't load up on it. I liked the fish soup fried yucca. Only downside was that the elevator was not working to take patrons to the bathroom. It is 2 flights down so it would be difficult for the disabled or elderly. The weekend lunch is the best value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank df12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Meat extremely overdone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first time to eat at this restaurant. Service is excellent and the salad bar is extremely good. There are lots of salads already made and fresh shrimp and marinated mushrooms and guacamole and chips, etc. I was very disappointed in the meat. All but one meat was so dried out and flavorless that I could not chew it. All we were getting was the outside crust. After I complained they brought by some meat that was less overdone and I had two little pieces but it was not flavorful or tasty to stay and get other meat. I am not sure if it had been sitting around or they just overcook everything. The drinks were $10.00 each Considering it was 133.92 for two dinners and two drinks it was really really not worth it. It was a very disappointing dinner on our anniversary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I go to Rei do Gado every time we are in San Diego. Rose is awesome and the rest of the staff is just as amazing! The cuts of meat are simply delicious and we just love the atmosphere. The caipirinhas, filet wrapped in bacon and pao de queijo are our faves! Do yourself a favor and try it more than once!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heatheryuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rei Do Gado Brazilian Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Rei Do Gado Brazilian Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing