We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brazilian Restaurant!”

Rei Do Gado Brazilian Steak House
Ranked #130 of 4,771 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: A trolley station is located on B street. A bus stop is right across from Rei Do Gado.
Description: The churrasco (Brazilian barbecue) is a traditional feast that has been celebrated in Brazil for centuries. It is a unique and healthy way of roasting meat over a mesquite flame that preserves tenderness and gives it a taste unmatched by any other. Guests of Rei do Gado will encounter an unlimited buffet of typical dishes and salads.
Yuma
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I go to Rei do Gado every time we are in San Diego. Rose is awesome and the rest of the staff is just as amazing! The cuts of meat are simply delicious and we just love the atmosphere. The caipirinhas, filet wrapped in bacon and pao de queijo are our faves! Do yourself a favor and try it more than once!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heatheryuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    153
    46
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

On week-ends the price is almost $50.00 per person and what you get for it is not worth the money. The variety is there but the food at the buffet was of uneven quality some being there for hours and not very appealing. The variety of the meats is good, but the quality is not consistent and average. I've been there several times before, and if you want to try this type of experience, I recommend you do it for lunch because of cost. For the cost the dessert is extra and the wines are over-priced ($10 for 1/3 glass.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rc49456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
698 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A nice place to try once”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a decent place to enjoy some nice cuts of meat, but way too noisy. Our initial cuts were done to perfection, spiced right, tender, and moist, but as the evening wore on they became salty and dry. The salad bar was top of the line, but you had to pick your timing to get to it or you couldn't get to it due to the crowd. All in all it was a nice place to try but I am not sure I would go back a second time as there are other area restaurants that can easily stand up to this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food is excellent, they will serve you food until you want them to, and the service is great. Try the mojitos they are great!! The mojitos are freshly made and delicious worth every penny. This is a great date night restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent food, close to tourist spots, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I am going to Rei do Gado each time I am in San Diego. Great salad bar, very good meat selection, great drink selection. Nice atmosphere, quiet enough to have conversations. A girl walked around in a carnival costume, which was a nice picture opportunity. Great for business dinners, no need to wait to place orders etc. They can deal with large crowds. Will go back next time when I am in San Diego.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rei Do Gado Brazilian Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Rei Do Gado Brazilian Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing